Dog health: neurological
Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in dogs: why there is no single NCL test, what changes first, and how fast it moves
A cited, vet-reviewed page on the inherited brain disease that takes young dogs. It carries the gene-by-gene register, the carrier numbers with their denominators, the ages of onset variant by variant, the reason a clear result on one test clears almost nothing, and the honest position on treatment and on when to stop.
Quick answer
Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in dogs is a group of inherited, fatal brain diseases in which waste builds up inside nerve cells until they die. Variants in at least 13 genes cause it, each variant is specific to one or two breeds, and there is no single NCL test. Most affected dogs change in personality first, then lose coordination and often sight, and die or are put to sleep between one and seven years old depending on the form. No treatment stops it.
This guide is general information for Indian pet owners and is not a diagnosis. Always consult a registered veterinarian near you before acting on anything you read here, and treat any sudden change in your pet's condition as urgent.
Signs of Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis
The 10 signs to watch for are listed below. Any one of them is a reason to consult your nearby vet; none of them is a diagnosis.
- A personality change in a young adult dog, most often new anxiety or aggression
- Losing house training or obedience the dog already knew
- Bumping into things or refusing to move in dim light
- Circling, pacing or repeating a compulsive movement
- A wide-based stance, or stumbling that keeps happening
- Tremor of the head or of all four limbs
- Startling badly at loud noises the dog never minded
- Losing the menace response, then daylight vision, in most forms
- Seizures, usually after the behaviour has already changed
- Signs that only worsen, month on month, never better
Breeds on this site that document this condition
Each breed page below carries the figure for this condition with its denominator and its source. The 14 breeds listed are the ones on this site that document it, not a ranking of risk.
India changes four things about this disease. First, the evidence: a Europe PMC search for canine neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis with India returned zero records by title and abstract and zero by author affiliation on 27 September 2026, against a Labrador hip dysplasia control of 110 through the same instrument, while the same search for human ceroid lipofuscinosis with an Indian affiliation returned 35 records, every one of them a human paper. Second, the testing route: no Indian laboratory tests any NCL variant, verified by downloading the DNA Labs India, Urban Animal and EasyDNA India pages whole and finding zero occurrences of ceroid, lipofuscinosis and every CLN gene name against a passing positive control on each page, so the swab goes to Missouri at USD 65, to California at USD 58 or to the United Kingdom at GBP 60.00, none of which includes courier. Third, the kit that is actually on sale here is the wrong one, because Amazon India lists the Embark Breed Identification Kit at Rs 14,187.00 and only the separate Breed plus Health kit carries the twelve NCL entries. Fourth, the price of an answer: a post-mortem examination of a dog costs Rs 1,000.00 and histopathology Rs 500.00 per specimen at Bihar Animal Sciences University in Patna, histopathology is Rs 150.00 at ICAR-IVRI Izatnagar, a plain CT with report is Rs 2,500 at Madras Veterinary College in Chennai, and not one of the three prices magnetic resonance imaging at all.
Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in dogs is a dozen diseases, not one
Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in dogs is the name for a group of inherited, fatal brain diseases that share a mechanism rather than a cause. In every form the lysosome, the recycling compartment inside a cell, fails to break something down, so an autofluorescent waste material builds up inside nerve cells until those cells die. Different forms come from variants in at least 13 different genes, and the clinical signs of some forms overlap so closely that genetic testing is the only way to tell which one a dog has.
That sentence is the organising fact of this page, and almost nothing written for owners says it. The register kept by the University of Sydney lists nine separate neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis entries for the dog, each tied to a named gene, plus a generic entry for cases with no gene yet found. Each entry carries its own breeds, its own age of onset and its own survival. A Cane Corso and a Tibetan Terrier can both be said to have NCL and be living two completely different lives.
| Form | Gene | Register entry | Breeds documented | Year the variant was first reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCL 1 | PPT1 | OMIA:001504-9615 | Dachshund, Cane Corso | 2010 |
| NCL 2 | TPP1 | OMIA:001472-9615 | Miniature long-haired Dachshund | 2006 |
| NCL 3 | CLN3 | OMIA:002432 | Recorded in the cross-species series, not in the dog breed tables read here | Not stated on the dog page |
| NCL 5 | CLN5 | OMIA:001482-9615 | Border Collie, Australian Cattle Dog, Golden Retriever | 2005 |
| NCL 6 | CLN6 | OMIA:001443-9615 | Australian Shepherd, Schapendoes, a mixed-breed dog | 2011 |
| NCL 7 | MFSD8 | OMIA:001962-9615 | Chinese Crested, Chihuahua, Basset Bleu de Gascogne, Small Swiss Hound | 2015 |
| NCL 8 | CLN8 | OMIA:001506-9615 | English Setter, Australian Shepherd, Alpine Dachsbracke, German Shorthaired Pointer, Huntaway, New Zealand Heading Dog, Saluki | 2005 |
| NCL 10 | CTSD | OMIA:001505-9615 | American Bulldog | 2006 |
| NCL 12 | ATP13A2 | OMIA:001552-9615 | Tibetan Terrier, Australian Cattle Dog | 2011 |
Read that table by column and the pattern is unmissable. No gene appears in more than three breeds, and most appear in one or two. The 2017 review that the top of Google's own results points to puts it plainly, that all of the known canine NCL mutations are specific to one or two breeds. That is why there is no NCL test, only NCL tests, and why a laboratory that runs the wrong one has told you nothing.
The registries do not even agree on what counts as NCL
One disease on the commercial test lists has been quietly reclassified and the sellers have not caught up. The Orthopedic Foundation for Animals sells a test called NCL-4A for the American Staffordshire Terrier, the Staffordshire Bull Terrier and the American Pit Bull Terrier, and describes the disease it detects as a form of neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis. The University of Sydney register moved that same ARSG disease out of the NCL series altogether and now files it as OMIA:001503-9615, Lysosomal storage disease, ARSG related, recording that more recent findings suggest it is more likely a mucopolysaccharidosis. The OFA's own source text concedes the tension in one line, noting that the canine disease has been classified as a form of NCL although human subjects with ARSG mutations do not develop NCL-like neurological signs.
Nothing about that reclassification changes what happens to the dog. The ARSG disease is still recessive, still progressive, still fatal, and the test that detects it still works. It matters for one practical reason only. If you search for an NCL test for a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and a laboratory tells you it does not sell one, ask about ARSG before you conclude nothing is available.
The gene count is still going up
The list is not finished, and the two most recent canine cases were not caused by a classic CLN gene at all. A Petit Bleu de Gascogne euthanised at about 23 months with hind-limb weakness, anxiety, hallucinatory episodes, lip smacking and progressive vision loss turned out to carry homozygous missense variants in AP3B1 and TRAPPC9, two genes involved in moving proteins to the lysosome; screening unaffected dogs of the breed found individuals homozygous for either variant alone and none homozygous for both. A Dachshund reported the following year had storage material of a pattern distinct from every previously characterised NCL and variants in five genes at once, which the register describes as possibly a novel form caused by a combination of them.
The people who find these cases say how few of them they hear about. The Missouri laboratory that identified most of the canine variants reports receiving notice of a new NCL-like disease in dogs on average once every six months, almost always from board-certified veterinary neurologists, and states that NCL probably goes unrecognised in many dogs euthanised with progressive neurological disease whose cases are never reported at all. Every number on this page sits on top of that. They describe the dogs somebody thought to test.
What owners notice first, and why it is usually behaviour
The first thing most owners notice in a dog developing NCL is not a limp and not a bumped doorframe. It is that the dog has changed. The diagnostic case definition used by the laboratory that found most of the canine variants opens with exactly that, requiring at least four signs from a list whose second item covers behavioural changes, changes in personality such as the development of aggressive behaviour, and the loss of learned behaviour.
The most carefully watched dogs in the whole literature make the point with a denominator. Five Golden Retriever littermates homozygous for the CLN5 variant were identified before any sign appeared and then followed to the end. The neurological signs that first became apparent at about 12 months of age were restlessness, unwillingness to cooperate with the handlers, and proprioceptive deficits. Two of those three are behaviour. These were laboratory dogs under daily expert observation, and the earliest thing anyone could see was a dog who would not do as it was asked.
The list of behavioural signs across all the canine forms is consistent enough to learn. The 2017 review gives it as anxiety, personality changes including the development of aggressive and compulsive behaviours, cognitive decline including loss of responsiveness to previously learned commands, increased sensitivity to loud noises, and in some dogs bouts of trance-like behaviour. The Tibetan Terrier description published by the OFA is blunter and closer to what an owner would say, recording that a common sign in the breed is the development of aggressiveness toward people or other dogs, that affected dogs often appear nervous or anxious, and that they often lose the effects of both behavioural and house training.
Aggression in this disease can also go away again, which is how it gets dismissed. The review records that in some forms dogs become aggressive in the early stages and the aggressiveness subsides as the disease progresses. An owner who mentioned a change at 14 months and was told it was adolescence may be told at 20 months that the dog seems calmer now.
Eight changes are worth writing down and taking to a veterinarian together, because no single one of them means anything on its own.
- A personality change in a young adult dog, most often new anxiety or new aggression toward people or other dogs.
- Losing house training or obedience the dog already had, which the case definition counts as the loss of learned behaviour.
- Refusing or fumbling in dim light, before daylight vision is affected at all.
- Circling, pacing or compulsive repetition, including circling in one direction.
- A wide-based stance or a stumble that keeps happening, usually in the hind legs first.
- Head tremor or limb tremor, often first seen when the dog is concentrating.
- A new startle at loud noises in a dog that never minded them.
- Seizures, which in most forms arrive after the behaviour has already changed.
Vision goes at a different point in every form
The order in which sight fails is not fixed and one form spares it entirely. In the Cane Corso form, impaired vision in low light is the opening sign at around eight months, progressing to apparent blindness by about ten months. In the CLN8 form of the English Setter and the Australian Shepherd, visual impairment and behavioural change arrive together at 14 to 18 months after a completely normal first year. In the American Bulldog form, the register records the opposite and states that, unlike many other NCLs, affected dogs do not show signs of cerebral dysfunction or blindness at all. A page that tells an American Bulldog owner to watch for vision loss has given them the wrong thing to watch.
This disease is not an emergency in itself, and there is nothing to rush for. Two things that can happen alongside it are emergencies. A seizure lasting more than a few minutes, or several seizures in a row without the dog recovering between them, needs a veterinarian the same day. So does a dog that cannot stand, cannot swallow, or is injuring itself falling. Sudden blindness over days is also not this disease, which takes months, and some causes of sudden blindness damage the eye permanently if they wait. Find a veterinarian near you through our vet directory and take the dog in. A website cannot triage your animal.
One more thing the case definition asks for is the part owners are best placed to answer. Because all the NCLs are hereditary, it says, it is important to find out whether any close relative or any dog of the same breed has shown similar signs. If you can reach the breeder, ask about the littermates. A littermate with the same story is worth more to a neurologist than any single sign in your own dog.
Age of onset and survival, form by form
Age of onset in neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis runs from eight months to about seven years depending entirely on which variant the dog carries, so 'a young dog's disease' covers very different realities. The 2017 review puts the spread in one sentence, that in some forms resulting from null variants signs can appear as early as several months of age, while in others the first behavioural signs may not become apparent until the dogs are approximately seven years old.
The table below is built from the register entries and the primary reports behind them. Every row states what was actually counted, because most of these forms are known from a handful of dogs.
| Form and breed | First signs | Death or euthanasia | What the figure counted |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCL 1, PPT1, Cane Corso | Impaired vision in low light at about 8 months; ataxia from 8 to 9 months | Euthanasia may be necessary by one year of age | The breed description the OFA publishes from the Missouri laboratory |
| NCL 2, TPP1, miniature long-haired Dachshund | Loss of vision in dim light at 6 to 7 months; cerebellar ataxia at 9 to 10 months | Death by 12 months of age | Sanders et al. (2011) and Awano et al. (2006), as summarised in the register |
| NCL 5, CLN5, Golden Retriever | About 12 months, as restlessness and unwillingness to cooperate | Euthanised between 21 and 23 months | Five littermates homozygous for the variant, followed prospectively from before onset |
| NCL 5, CLN5, Border Collie | 18 to 24 months | Not stated as a figure in the register entry | The register's species summary for the breed |
| NCL 8, CLN8, English Setter and Australian Shepherd | Normal to 12 to 14 months; visual and behavioural change at 14 to 18 months; seizures at 17 to 24 months | Usually before 27 months of age | Koppang (1992) and Guo et al. (2014), as summarised in the register |
| NCL 10, CTSD, American Bulldog | Usually before 2 years of age, and without blindness | Death by 7 years of age | Awano et al. (2006) and Evans et al. (2005), as summarised in the register |
| NCL 12, ATP13A2, Tibetan Terrier | Behavioural signs usually at 4 to 6 years | Not stated as a figure in the register entry | Katz et al. (2005, 2007) and Farias et al. (2011), as summarised in the register |
| ARSG disease, American Staffordshire Terrier | Typically between 3 and 6 years | Euthanasia elected for dogs as young as 7 years; other affected dogs live past 10 | The breed description the OFA publishes from the Missouri laboratory |
| NCL-like, AP3B1 and TRAPPC9, Petit Bleu de Gascogne | Not stated as an age in the abstract | Euthanised at approximately 23 months | One dog |
| Adult-onset NCL, Shikoku Inu | Gait abnormality about three months before referral at two years and eleven months | Euthanised at five years and eight months | One dog |
Two rows there deserve to be read against each other, because a family with an American Bulldog and a family with a Cane Corso are reading the same disease name and a five-fold difference in time. The Cane Corso form may require euthanasia by one year. The American Bulldog form progresses slowly, spares vision, and carries death by seven years. Neither of those is wrong and neither is transferable.
The sources disagree about the Golden Retriever, and the disagreement is worth a year
Two authorities give two different onset ages for the same variant in the same breed. The UC Davis test page states that the phenotype is characterised by a progressive loss of coordination, blindness and behavioural changes beginning at 1.5 to 2 years of age, with euthanasia by three years due to poor quality of life. The prospective study of five homozygous littermates, published seven years after the variant was described, found the first signs at approximately 12 months and euthanised all five between 21 and 23 months. The OFA's breed description, from the same laboratory that ran that study, puts it at approximately 13 months with euthanasia at 30 to 35 months.
Both figures are honest and they come from different populations. The 12-month figure comes from dogs watched daily by people who knew what they were looking for; the 18-to-24-month figure is closer to when an owner notices. For a family, the practical reading is the earlier one. If you are waiting for 18 months before taking a change seriously in a Golden Retriever that has tested affected, you may be six months late.
Progression is also visible on a scan long before it is finished. In those same five dogs, magnetic resonance imaging showed pronounced progressive global brain atrophy with a more than sevenfold increase in the volume of the ventricular system between 9.5 and 22.5 months of age. The Shikoku Inu case describes the same picture in a slower form, with symmetrical progressive atrophy of the whole brain and the cervical spinal cord.
Why there is no NCL test, and what the three big laboratories actually sell
There is no test for neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis. There are ten products sold by three major bodies, each one looking for a single variant in a single gene, each validated for one breed or a small group. A clear result on any of them clears the dog of that variant and of nothing else, and buying the wrong one is the commonest way to waste the money.
The three catalogues were opened and counted on 27 September 2026. The Orthopedic Foundation for Animals sells five breed-specific NCL tests, ordered by name. The Royal Kennel Club records results from four, listed among the 105 DNA tests in its official schemes. The Veterinary Genetics Laboratory at the University of California, Davis sells one across its entire dog catalogue of individual tests and breed panels, and it is for the Golden Retriever.
| Test as sold | Seller | Breed the seller names | Price and turnaround |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCL-10 | Orthopedic Foundation for Animals, run by the University of Missouri | American Bulldog | USD 65 per test, kit and OFA registration included |
| NCL-4A | Orthopedic Foundation for Animals | American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier | USD 65 per test |
| NCL-1 | Orthopedic Foundation for Animals | Cane Corso | USD 65 per test |
| NCL-GR | Orthopedic Foundation for Animals | Golden Retriever | USD 65 per test |
| NCL-TT | Orthopedic Foundation for Animals | Tibetan Terrier | USD 65 per test |
| NCL5 | The Royal Kennel Club | Border Collie | GBP 60.00, cheek swab, 1 to 3 weeks |
| NCL8 | The Royal Kennel Club | English Setter | GBP 60.00, cheek swab, 1 to 3 weeks |
| NCL12 | The Royal Kennel Club | Tibetan Terrier | GBP 60.00, cheek swab, 1 to 3 weeks |
| Sal-NCL | The Royal Kennel Club | Saluki | GBP 60.00, cheek swab, 1 to 3 weeks |
| Neuronal Ceroid Lipofuscinosis (NCL) in Golden Retrievers | Veterinary Genetics Laboratory, UC Davis | Golden Retriever and Golden Retriever crosses | USD 58 single test, USD 27 added to another health test on the same animal, at least 15 business days |
Count the breeds in that table and there are ten, against the more than 20 canine breeds in which evidence of NCL has been documented. Count the overlaps and there are two: the Tibetan Terrier is on two lists and the Golden Retriever is on two The Royal Kennel Club, DNA testing Veterinary Genetics Laboratory. Every other breed with a test has exactly one place to buy it. An owner of an Alpine Dachsbracke, a Schapendoes, a New Zealand Heading Dog, a Chinese Crested or a Basset Bleu de Gascogne, all of them breeds with a documented variant, will find no test on any of these three lists at all Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals.
The same gene, three breeds, and a test that only works for one of them
The sharpest version of the problem is printed on the UC Davis page by UC Davis. The CLN5 gene causes NCL in the Border Collie, the Australian Cattle Dog and the Golden Retriever, but not through the same change: the first two share a nonsense variant, c.619C>T, while the Golden Retriever has a two base pair deletion, c.934_935delAG. So the laboratory ends its own product page with the sentence a buyer needs most, that this test is specific for the CLN5 variant present in the Golden Retriever and does not detect the neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis variants in other breeds, nor the CLN5 variants in Border Collies and Australian Cattle Dogs.
Read that twice. A single gene, three breeds, and the test named after the gene misses two of the three. This is the same trap our page on progressive retinal atrophy in dogs documents in the eye, and the same one the MDR1 drug sensitivity in dogs page documents for a pump gene. A DNA test is a question about one letter of one gene, and it answers only the question it was asked.
The Royal Kennel Club prints its own version of the caution on every product page. Research has not yet validated the test for breeds it does not list, it says, and owners of any breed can buy it but should exercise caution when interpreting results for breeds not explicitly mentioned; the club will only record a result on a dog's profile if the test is recognised for that specific breed.
The one route that covers several variants at once
A multi-variant panel is the only way to screen a dog of unknown or mixed ancestry, and one is sold to Indian buyers. Embark's Breed + Health kit screens for 270 or more genetic health conditions and its published condition list carries twelve neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis entries covering nine named conditions, NCL 1, NCL 2, NCL 5, NCL 6, NCL 7, NCL 8, NCL 10, NCL 12 and the NCL4A cerebellar ataxia that OMIA has reclassified. That is more NCL conditions in one product than the OFA and the Royal Kennel Club sell between them.
The gap between twelve entries and nine conditions is the interesting part, because it is the breed-variant problem being solved rather than ignored. Embark lists NCL 5 twice, once in general and once as the CLN5 exon 4 deletion Golden Retriever variant, and NCL 8 three times, once in general, once as the CLN8 Australian Shepherd variant and once as the CLN8 insertion Saluki variant. A seller that reads one variant per product has to pick a breed. A panel does not.
It is not a clean answer either, and the 2017 review says why. In mixed-breed dogs of unknown ancestry, testing for all of the known canine NCL variants may prove diagnostic, but negative results will not rule out NCL in these dogs. A panel that reads twelve entries still misses the two most recently described canine cases, because neither of them was caused by a CLN gene at all Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals.
How common the carrier state is, and why every number is an underestimate of the wrong thing
Carrier rates for neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis range from under one in a hundred to one in four depending on the breed and, just as much, on who was counted. The largest published register is the OFA's Tibetan Terrier table, in which 792 of 3,084 dogs tested carry the variant, 25.7 percent, with a further 130 dogs, 4.2 percent, genetically affected.
Four OFA registers carry an NCL row and they were read live on 27 September 2026. Three other breeds that the OFA sells an NCL test for carry no row at all, which is a gap in the register rather than in the breed.
| Breed register | Dogs tested | Clear | Carrier | Genetically affected | Is the NCL test a CHIC requirement for the breed? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tibetan Terrier, NCL (TT) | 3,084 | 2,162 (70.1 percent) | 792 (25.7 percent) | 130 (4.2 percent) | Yes, required |
| Golden Retriever, NCL | 4,808 | 4,647 (96.7 percent) | 148 (3.1 percent) | 10 (.2 percent, printed with no leading zero) | No, not on the breed's CHIC list |
| American Staffordshire Terrier, NCL | 965 | 717 (74.3 percent) | 239 (24.8 percent) | 9 (.9 percent) | Yes, required as NCL-A |
| American Bulldog, NCL 10 | 445 | 413 (92.8 percent) | 28 (6.3 percent) | 1 (0.2 percent) | Yes, required |
| Cane Corso, NCL | 270 | 270 (100.0 percent) | None recorded | None recorded | Yes, required as NCL 1 |
| English Setter | No NCL row in the table at all | The table holds hips, elbows, BAER hearing, thyroid, eyes and patella | Not applicable | Not applicable | No |
| Staffordshire Bull Terrier | No NCL row in the table at all | The table holds eyes, hips, elbows, L2HGA, cataracts, patella, degenerative myelopathy and cardiac | Not applicable | Not applicable | No, the two required DNA tests are L2HGA and hereditary cataracts |
| American Pit Bull Terrier | No NCL row in the table at all | The page states the breed is not yet part of the CHIC program | Not applicable | Not applicable | There is no CHIC list for the breed |
The English Setter row is the one to sit with. This is the breed in which canine NCL was first studied, from a research colony established in 1970, and whose CLN8 variant was the first canine NCL variant ever identified. Today the OFA holds no NCL register row for it and does not require the test for CHIC certification. The Royal Kennel Club sells an NCL8 test validated for the English Setter and nobody else. Absence from a register is a statement about testing, never about a breed.
Two numbers for the same breed, five years and a population apart
The American Staffordshire Terrier has a published carrier rate of 50 percent and a register carrier rate of 24.8 percent, and both are correct. The study that found the variant genotyped 181 healthy American Staffordshire Terriers from French and United States panels and found 91 of them, 50 percent, carried a single copy, with 86, 47 percent, carrying none. Those panels were assembled around affected dogs and their relatives, so they are enriched by design. The OFA register, a self-selected sample of dogs whose owners chose to test and to publish, currently reads 239 carriers among 965 dogs, 24.8 percent. Neither number is the breed's true carrier rate and nobody has measured that.
The same paper also reports the strongest evidence anywhere that two copies is not the same as a sentence. Four American Staffordshire Terriers in its healthy group genotyped as homozygous for the variant and shared the disease haplotype; three of them were nine years old at the time of the study and the fourth died at 13 years from a non-neurological disease. For a disease whose typical onset in that breed is 3 to 6 years, four dogs reaching 9 and 13 is a real observation about penetrance, and it is why the OFA's own text records euthanasia for some affected dogs as young as 7 while others live past 10.
This is the same reading discipline our page on degenerative myelopathy in dogs applies to its own risk test. An allele frequency is not a genotype frequency, a register is not a population, and a genotype is not a prognosis.
The registers show testing working, slowly
Where a breed tests, the clear share climbs, and the OFA's birth-year trend columns show it. In the Tibetan Terrier register the share of dogs testing clear runs 53.3 percent for dogs born 1991 to 1995, 65.6 percent for 2001 to 2005, 71.2 percent for 2011 to 2015, 83.4 percent for 2016 to 2020 and 84.1 percent for dogs born 2021 or later. The American Staffordshire Terrier register shows the same shape, bottoming at 64.7 percent clear for dogs born 2006 to 2010 and recovering to 84.2 percent for 2016 to 2020, with the variant having been published in 2010 Abitbol M, Thibaud JL, Olby NJ, Hitte C.
Read those two curves with care, because a rising clear share in a self-selected register can also mean that the people who test are increasingly the people who already breed clear. It is consistent with the disease receding and it does not prove it. The honest version is that the register is getting cleaner and nobody has measured the breed.
Outside those four registers the numbers come from research screens, and they are much smaller. A screen of 1,007 Chihuahua puppies in Japan, sampled by saliva at physical examination before transport to pet shops, found a carrier rate of 1.29 percent and a mutant allele frequency of 0.00645, which the authors judged high enough to warrant control measures for a lethal disease. The Border Collie CLN5 allele was estimated at 3.5 percent in Australia and measured at 0.035 in 500 Border Collies in Japan. In Australian Cattle Dogs, 41 of 393 unaffected dogs were heterozygous for the ATP13A2 variant, a carrier frequency of around 10 percent, while none of 555 dogs from genetically diverse breeds carried it at all.
How neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis is diagnosed, and what each step costs in India
To diagnose neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in a living dog, a veterinarian rules out the treatable causes of the same signs, images the brain, and then runs the DNA test for the variant known in that breed. If the breed has no known variant, a definitive diagnosis can only be made on microscopic examination of nervous tissue at necropsy.
That last sentence is printed by both the OFA and the University of Missouri and it is the hard limit of this disease. Until the gene defect responsible for NCL has been identified for a particular breed, the register states, a definitive diagnosis can only be made upon microscopic examination of nervous tissues after death. For most of the affected breeds on earth, that is still where the answer is.
Five steps make up the work-up, and only the third of them is cheap.
- A neurological examination first, which localises the problem and separates a brain disease from a spinal one.
- Ruling out what is treatable, since infection, thiamine deficiency, portosystemic shunting, toxicity and epilepsy can all look like this in a young dog.
- The breed-specific DNA test, which confirms the diagnosis in a living dog when the breed has a known variant.
- Brain imaging, which shows the global atrophy and the enlarged ventricles that accompany the disease and rules out a tumour.
- Necropsy with histopathology, the only definitive test, looking for autofluorescent storage material in the neurons.
What the pathologist looks for is distinctive enough to be worth naming, because it is what makes a necropsy report readable. In the Shikoku Inu case the deposits were faint to moderate light-brown pigments in the cytoplasm of neurons throughout the cerebrum, cerebellum and brainstem nuclei, positive for Luxol fast blue, periodic acid-Schiff and Sudan black B, and autofluorescent; electron microscopy showed membranous material inside the neurons. That autofluorescence under blue or ultraviolet light is the feature every form of this disease shares.
The Indian price of each step, from three government rate cards
Three Indian government veterinary teaching hospitals publish rate cards and between them they price most of this path in rupees. None of them prices magnetic resonance imaging.
| Step | Institution | Published fee | What the schedule says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Post-mortem examination, dog or cat | Bihar Animal Sciences University, Patna, Veterinary Clinical Complex | Rs 1,000.00 | Section F, Pathological Test, row 3 |
| Histopathological examination, H and E, dog, cat or horse | Bihar Animal Sciences University, Patna | Rs 500.00 per specimen | Section F, row 8; the same test is Rs 200.00 per specimen for cattle, goats and sheep |
| Biopsy by fine needle aspiration cytology, dog, cat or horse | Bihar Animal Sciences University, Patna | Rs 250.00 | Section F, row 7 |
| Histopathology, pet charge | ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Referral Veterinary Polyclinic | Rs 150.00, plus tax as applicable | Clinical laboratory investigations schedule, with effect from June 2024 |
| Computed tomography of the head, plain, with report | Madras Veterinary College Teaching Hospital, Chennai, part of Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University | Rs 2,500 | Hospital fee structure, item 19; plain scan without report is Rs 2,000 and contrast with report is Rs 3,000 |
| Plain radiograph | Madras Veterinary College Teaching Hospital, Chennai | Rs 100 | Hospital fee structure, item 16 |
| Magnetic resonance imaging | None of the three | No published price at any of the three | The Madras Veterinary College fee list runs to 23 items and names no MRI service; the IVRI schedule prices radiography, ultrasonography and echocardiography and names no MRI |
Add those up and the shape of the Indian problem appears. A necropsy and histopathology that would answer the question definitively cost Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 at Patna, together less than a tenth of the price of a single overseas DNA test, and they can only be done after the dog has died. The living-dog test costs several thousand rupees and has to be posted out of the country. The scan that would show the atrophy has no published price anywhere in the Indian government system, and the CT that is priced in Chennai is a poorer tool for this than MRI.
Nobody wants to think about this while their dog is alive, and it is the single most useful thing an Indian owner of an affected dog can do for the next dog. The Missouri laboratory says outright that NCL probably goes unrecognised in many dogs euthanised with progressive neurological disease, because those cases are never reported to anyone able to identify the variant. India has contributed no canine case to that literature. If your dog dies of an undiagnosed progressive brain disease and you can face it, a post-mortem examination at a veterinary college, at Rs 1,000 in Patna, is how a case stops being invisible. Ask your own veterinarian whether it is possible where you are, and say no if you cannot. Nobody is owed this.
There is no treatment, and what that sentence actually means
No treatment stops neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in any dog, and none slows it in a way that has been shown to work outside a research colony. The register entry for the Dachshund PPT1 form states it in four words, that there is no effective treatment, and the 2017 review of the whole field records that an effective treatment is available for only one form of NCL, a human one.
This page will not pad that out. There is no diet, no supplement, no physiotherapy protocol and no drug with evidence behind it in this disease, and inventing hope here would cost a family money and time they do not have. What exists is good palliative and supportive care, decided by the veterinarian looking at your dog, and an honest read of how long is left.
The research record is worth stating precisely, because it is the source of most of the false hope online. Systematic therapeutic interventions in canine NCL have been evaluated for exactly two forms, the CLN8 disease of English Setters and the CLN2 disease of miniature long-haired Dachshunds. The Dachshund work succeeded, and it succeeded for people: demonstrating that enzyme replacement therapy worked in that model led to the successful completion of human clinical trials of the treatment. Not one of those trials produced a product a veterinarian can buy for a dog.
Even inside that successful programme the early attempts failed. Intrathecal administration of the TPP1 enzyme caused a robust immune response and did not improve the overall function of the treated dogs. This is the shape of experimental medicine and it is not a treatment pathway available to anyone reading this page.
What supportive care actually looks like
Care in this disease is about safety and dignity in the time the dog has. The signs that shape it are a dog that is losing its balance, losing its sight in some forms, becoming anxious or aggressive, and eventually having seizures. Practical care therefore looks like keeping the floor plan unchanged and uncluttered, gating stairs and fencing any open water, putting down non-slip matting on the smooth tiled floors most Indian homes have, feeding from a raised and stable bowl once prehension becomes difficult, and reducing the noise and handling that a noise-sensitive dog now finds frightening Orthopedic Foundation for Animals.
Medication has a real role and this page will not name a drug or print a dose. Seizures are treated, pain from a fall or a secondary problem is treated, and anxiety is sometimes treated, all by the veterinarian who has examined your dog. Ask your own vet what applies. What no medicine does is change the direction.
When to stop, and why euthanasia is a real answer here
Almost every affected dog in the published literature was euthanised, and the reviews say so without softening it. The 2017 review of the whole field records that in all cases the neurological signs become progressively worse over time, and that they almost invariably lead owners eventually to elect euthanasia. The UC Davis test page says the progressive nature of the disease often results in euthanasia of the affected dog by three years, due to the poor quality of life. The five prospectively followed Golden Retrievers were euthanised between 21 and 23 months because of the severity of the signs.
That is not a failure of care and it is not giving up on the dog. For a disease that is progressive, untreatable and fatal, the only decision anyone gets to make is when, and making it early is a kindness that costs the person making it a great deal. There is no cure for any canine form of this disease and no treatment that slows it, so the question in front of a family is never whether the dog recovers Katz ML, Rustad E, Robinson GO.
Quality of life in a neurodegenerative disease is judged on the dog's day, not on a score. Is the dog eating and drinking without help. Can it get up, get outside and get back. Is it frightened more often than it is settled. Are the falls hurting it. Is there more than one bad day for every good one, and is that ratio moving. Write the answers down for a fortnight rather than trying to judge it in the moment, because the change is slow and living alongside it hides it. Then take the fortnight to your veterinarian. Your nearby vet is the only person who can judge your animal, and asking the question early is not the same as making the decision early.
Indian law has something to say about how this is done, and it is worth knowing before the day. The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Dog Breeding and Marketing) Rules, 2017 require that euthanasia of incurably sick or terminally ill animals be accomplished by a registered veterinary practitioner under the Veterinary Council of India or the State Veterinary Council, by a method approved by the Veterinary Council of India, with records maintained. Those rules bind registered breeding establishments rather than every household, and they are still the clearest published statement in India of who may do this and how. The same rule opens by forbidding euthanasia of a dog simply because it can no longer breed or be sold.
One published Indian figure exists for the procedure itself and it belongs here rather than buried. The ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute at Izatnagar lists euthanasia in its referral polyclinic schedule at Rs 200.00 for a pet, plus tax as applicable, with effect from June 2024. It is printed here because families searching at two in the morning deserve to find it stated plainly by somebody, and because a government teaching hospital rate is the kind of figure private practice can be measured against.
Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in India, where the dog literature is empty and the human literature is not
India has published nothing at all on canine neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis, and the absence was measured rather than assumed. A Europe PMC title and abstract search for the disease with dog, dogs or canine and India returned zero records on 27 September 2026, and the same search scoped to author affiliation instead of title also returned zero, while the Labrador retriever hip dysplasia control returned 110 on-topic canine papers through the identical instrument in the same session.
That absence is unusually sharp because the human literature from the same country is substantial. Widening the search to ceroid lipofuscinosis with an Indian author affiliation returns 35 records, and every one is a human paper. They include a single-centre genetic spectrum series of 56 cases, a clinical and laboratory profile of children at a tertiary care centre in south India, a CLN5 variant presenting as focal dystonia, a CLN6 case from Kolkata and a TPP1 family from Jammu and Kashmir. Indian paediatric neurology diagnoses, sequences and publishes Batten disease in children. Indian veterinary medicine has published it in no dog, ever.
The most likely reading is not that Indian dogs are spared. It is the one the Missouri laboratory gives for everywhere, that NCL goes unrecognised in dogs euthanised with progressive neurological disease whose cases nobody reports. India has the pedigree dogs, and it has none of the reporting chain.
Which of the affected breeds an Indian buyer will actually meet
Of the breeds with a documented NCL variant, several are kept in Indian cities and several are not. A buyer in Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Pune, Hyderabad, Kolkata or Ahmedabad is most likely to meet the Golden Retriever, the Cane Corso, the American Bulldog, dogs of the American Pit Bull Terrier and American Staffordshire Terrier type, the Dachshund, the Chihuahua and the Border Collie. The first five of those are on the list of ten breeds with a commercially available test, and the Dachshund and the Chihuahua are not, even though both have a published variant and the Dachshund has two. That gap matters more than the rest of the list, because both are small pedigree dogs bought and sold across Indian cities and neither has a test in any of the three catalogues. The Tibetan Terrier carries the largest NCL register in the world and is a Himalayan breed with a real presence in northern India. The Saluki and the English Setter are rare here and both have a test that exists for them and nobody else.
Three Indian-facing laboratories sell dog DNA panels and not one of them tests for any form of this disease. The DNA Labs India dog test page, the Urban Animal kit pages and the EasyDNA India price index were each downloaded whole on 27 September 2026 and searched for ceroid, lipofuscinosis, NCL and every CLN gene name, and all three returned zero occurrences of every term, while a positive control string unique to each page was present in all three EasyDNA India, Animal DNA Testing Services. The DNA Labs India page names progressive retinal atrophy and MDR1 as example conditions its panel covers, so it is not that the page avoids naming diseases. If an Indian laboratory tells you its panel covers neurological genetic disease, ask which gene and which variant, in writing, before you pay.
What is buyable in India is one kit, and the version on sale here is the wrong one. Amazon India listed the Embark Dog DNA Test Breed Identification Kit at Rs 14,187.00, in stock, shipped and sold by SKSB IMPORT, on 27 September 2026. Embark's own site states that the Breed ID kit covers breed mix, ancestry and relatives, and that it is the separate Breed + Health kit that adds screening for 270 or more genetic health conditions. Only the Breed + Health product carries the twelve NCL entries. A buyer who pays Rs 14,187 for the kit on Amazon India gets no NCL result at all, and pays roughly as much as the health kit costs at its listed price of USD 139.
Every rupee figure on this page was divided by 84.38 and by 74 before publication. Rs 14,187 is USD 168.13 at 84.38 and USD 191.72 at 74, so it lands on no round dollar and reads as an importer's own price rather than a straight conversion. The Indian government rate-card figures are rupee rates set in rupees and were checked the same way ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences….
What it costs to post a swab out of India
The breed-specific tests are all sold abroad and the prices are published. The Orthopedic Foundation for Animals charges USD 65 per test for every one of its five NCL tests, which includes the kit, the laboratory work at the University of Missouri and automatic registration of the result in the OFA database. At 84.38 that is about Rs 5,500. The UC Davis Golden Retriever test is USD 58 as a single test, or USD 27 added to another health test on the same animal, with a turnaround of at least 15 business days, which is about Rs 4,900. The Royal Kennel Club's four NCL tests are GBP 60.00 each, on a cheek swab, in one to three weeks The Royal Kennel Club.
None of those prices includes international shipping in either direction, and no laboratory on this page prices it. Two further frictions are printed on the sellers' own pages. The OFA requires payment in US dollars, by a cheque or money order drawn on a US financial institution, a postal money order, or Visa or Mastercard. The Royal Kennel Club posts a kit with a pre-paid return envelope, which is a United Kingdom postal service and not an Indian one. The OFA does say that owners outside the United States and Canada may submit their own country's equivalent health screening results for listing, reviewed case by case, with fees applying.
None of this is humid-climate medicine, and that is worth saying plainly on a site that usually writes about the monsoon. Heat, humidity and tick pressure change almost every other disease Bonbeno covers and they change nothing here. What India changes about neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis is access, evidence and the price of the answer.
Carrier testing before breeding is the entire prevention story
The mode of inheritance is the same in every canine form of neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis with a known variant, autosomal recessive, which makes prevention arithmetic rather than medicine. A dog needs two copies to be affected, a dog with one copy is a healthy carrier that can pass it on, and two tested-clear parents cannot produce an affected puppy.
The consequence is the thing worth repeating to anyone breeding a dog of an affected breed. Because the variant is recessive and carriers are healthy for life, a breeding programme can carry it invisibly for generations and then produce a litter of dying puppies from two dogs that both looked perfect. If two carriers are mated, approximately 25 percent of the puppies are predicted to develop the disease and 50 percent are predicted to be carriers.
The register gives the same advice per form, in the same words each time. Relatives of affected dogs should be tested, affected dogs should not be bred, and carriers should be bred only to non-carriers. Parents of an affected dog are obligate carriers, so a single affected puppy tells you the genotype of both parents without testing either. The Staffordshire Terrier Club of America puts it on the OFA breed page as a rule, that two NCL carriers should never be bred together and that affected dogs should never be bred.
Breeding a carrier to a clear dog is permitted and it has a catch that gets skipped. Half of that litter will be carriers, and they look exactly like the other half, so every puppy kept for breeding has to be tested in its own right or the variant simply moves to the next generation untracked. The OFA does recognise a shortcut where both parents are tested and registered, listing first-generation offspring of tested dogs as eligible for Clear By Parentage.
What Indian law requires, and the word that lets this disease through
Indian law already requires genetic testing of breeding dogs and it does not name this disease. Rule 8 sub-rule (10) of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Dog Breeding and Marketing) Rules, 2017 reads that the dogs shall have been tested for genetic defects, including hip dysplasia, progressive retinal atrophy, night blindness, hypothyroidism, entropion, ectropion, overshot, undershot jaw, wry mouth, two or more missing teeth, unilateral cryptorchid or full cryptorchid males. Eleven defects are named. Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis is not one of them, and the gazette text carries no occurrence of ceroid, lipofuscinosis or Batten anywhere in its 14 pages.
The word that matters is including. It makes the list illustrative rather than exhaustive, so a registered Indian breeder of an American Bulldog or a Cane Corso is arguably already required to test for the breed's known genetic defect, and this one is a known genetic defect with a commercial test. The rule names no laboratory, no standard and nobody to read the result, which is the same hole our page on progressive retinal atrophy in dogs documents for a disease the clause does name.
Six questions do the work when you are buying a puppy of an affected breed, and they are worth asking in writing.
- Which named NCL test did each parent have, by its product name, NCL-10 or NCL-4A or NCL5 or another.
- Which laboratory ran it, since a kennel club records a result only from a laboratory on its own approved list.
- Is that test validated for this breed, because a result in an unlisted breed is of uncertain value.
- Show me the laboratory report for both parents, not a line in an advertisement.
- Has any dog in the pedigree been put to sleep young for a neurological problem, which is how an unreported case shows itself.
- Are you registered under Rule 3 of the 2017 Rules, and can you produce the certificate.
If the breed has no test, the honest answer is that there is nothing to screen for and the pedigree is all you have. That is the position for the Alpine Dachsbracke, the Schapendoes, the New Zealand Heading Dog, the Chinese Crested and the Basset Bleu de Gascogne, all of them breeds with a published variant and no product on the three big lists Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals. Ask about the littermates and the grandparents instead. Our guide to checking a dog breeder in India covers the paperwork, and KCI registration explained covers what a Kennel Club of India certificate does and does not say about health testing.
One last point belongs to buyers rather than breeders, and it is the reason this page exists. The disease is not rare in the breeds that carry it. A quarter of all tested Tibetan Terriers on the OFA register are carriers, and 130 of them are genetically affected. Those 130 dogs were somebody's puppy, and almost every one of them could have been prevented by a cheek swab from each parent.
What Google India asks about NCL in dogs
What are the symptoms of neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis in dogs?
Behaviour changes first in most forms, so the first signs are rarely the symptoms an owner expects. Expect new anxiety or aggression, loss of house training and of learned commands, then circling, a wide-based stance, stumbling, tremor, noise sensitivity, loss of vision in dim light and eventually seizures. The mix and the order differ by which gene is involved, and the American Bulldog form spares vision entirely.
What are the first signs of DM in dogs?
This question is about degenerative myelopathy, a different disease that Google's box shows alongside this one. Degenerative myelopathy starts as painless hind-leg weakness and knuckling in an older dog, not as a personality change in a young one, and a painful dog usually has disc disease instead. Our degenerative myelopathy page carries the four published stages.
What is the silent killer in dogs?
No single disease owns that phrase and it is used loosely for several. Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis fits the description better than most, because carriers are completely healthy, the variant passes silently through a pedigree for generations, and the first sign in an affected puppy is often mistaken for adolescence or for a training problem.
What breeds are prone to DM?
Again this asks about degenerative myelopathy rather than NCL. On the OFA registers the German Shepherd, Boxer and Pembroke Welsh Corgi carry the highest at-risk shares for degenerative myelopathy. For neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis the breeds with registers are the Tibetan Terrier, Golden Retriever, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bulldog and Cane Corso.
How much does a dog DNA test cost in India?
Amazon India listed the Embark Breed Identification Kit at Rs 14,187.00 on 27 September 2026, and that kit tests no health conditions at all. No Indian laboratory tests any NCL variant, so a breed-specific test means posting a swab abroad at USD 65 to the OFA, USD 58 to UC Davis or GBP 60.00 to the Royal Kennel Club, courier not included.
What is NCL for dogs?
NCL stands for neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis, a group of inherited lysosomal storage diseases in which waste accumulates inside nerve cells until they die. It is recessive in almost every form, so both parents must pass on a copy. It causes dementia, loss of coordination, blindness in most forms, seizures and early death, and no treatment stops it.
Is DNA test illegal in India?
No. Nothing prohibits a dog DNA test in India, and for breeding dogs Indian law requires the opposite. Rule 8 sub-rule 10 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Dog Breeding and Marketing) Rules, 2017 states that dogs shall have been tested for genetic defects, and lists eleven by name. The rule names no laboratory and no standard.
Which dog breed DNA test is most accurate?
For this disease the question is the wrong one, because accuracy is not the limit. A breed-specific NCL test reads one variant in one gene and is close to definitive for that variant, and useless for every other. UC Davis states on its own page that its Golden Retriever test does not detect the CLN5 variants in Border Collies or Australian Cattle Dogs.
If my dog tests clear for NCL, is it in the clear?
Only for the one variant that test reads. Over 20 canine breeds have documented NCL and the three big laboratories sell ten tests covering ten breeds between them, so most affected breeds have no product at all. In mixed-breed dogs, testing every known variant may still not rule the disease out.
How long does a dog with NCL live?
Life expectancy depends entirely on the form. Miniature long-haired Dachshunds with the TPP1 variant die by 12 months, Cane Corsos may need euthanasia by one year, English Setters and Australian Shepherds usually before 27 months, and American Bulldogs live to about 7 years. Five Golden Retrievers followed from birth were euthanised at 21 to 23 months.
Should I put my dog to sleep if it has NCL?
That is your veterinarian's conversation with you, and it is a legitimate answer rather than a failure. Almost every dog in the published literature was euthanised as the signs became severe, because the disease is progressive, untreatable and fatal. Track your dog's days over a fortnight rather than judging in the moment, then take that record to your vet.