Dog and cat care guide
When your pet dies in India: euthanasia decisions, cremation and burial options, and what it costs
The decision, the procedure and the law, plainly: what the AAHA and AVMA guidelines say about when and how, what the PCA Act, the ABC Rules and the VCI code say about legality, which municipal Acts forbid a garden burial, what the BMC and the MCD charge, what the private pages print, what the studies say about grief, and what the five Indian insurance wordings pay.
Quick answer
When your pet dies in India, pet cremation at a municipal centre is the cheapest lawful route: free at the BMC's three Mumbai crematoriums with a vet's death certificate and the dog licence, Rs 2,000 to Rs 3,000 at the MCD's Dwarka centre, while home burial or an open pyre breaches both cities' Acts. The euthanasia decision rests on the 2023 AAHA guideline's calendar of good and bad days, carried out by a registered vet with your written consent.
This guide is general information for Indian pet owners and is not a diagnosis. Always consult a registered veterinarian near you before acting on anything you read here, and treat any sudden change in your pet's condition as urgent.
Deciding when: the quality of life record your vet will ask for
The decision to euthanise a dog or cat rests on a written quality of life record and a conversation with your vet, not on a birthday or one bad night. The 2023 AAHA senior care guideline names seven clinical situations that bear on the decision and asks owners to mark good and bad days on a calendar, because most quality-of-life scales found online are not validated.
Start the record early. The guideline says palliative care 'should be offered to the client when there is a chronic, progressive, or terminal diagnosis', that starting early increases both the quality and the quantity of life, and that the first appointment can take up to three hours, and it asks the vet for 'a frank discussion about the financial, physical, emotional, and time implications' of each option. If your animal is not there yet, the senior dog care guide and the senior cat care guide cover the screening panel and the pain checks that come first.
Use a scale with care. A 2015 rapid review found 52 published quality-of-life instruments for dogs and only 11 with any evidence of reliability or validity. The guideline's conclusion is that a validated scale 'may help the client have a more objective view', but 'most QOL scales found online are not currently validated', so 'track good versus bad days on a calendar or journal';. In a 2026 survey of 228 owners from 17 countries who had been through euthanasia, 63.3 percent named illness and 31.6 percent age-related decline as the reason, 7.3 percent used a structured quality-of-life tool, and those whose vet gave emotional support carried a significantly lower emotional burden afterwards. The seven situations the guideline lists are given below.
- Anorexia, the animal that has stopped eating rather than one that eats less.
- Symptom progression despite the treatment plan.
- Severe or unrelenting chronic pain that the prescribed drugs no longer hold.
- Deterioration during active treatment.
- Persistent cough even at rest.
- Cognitive dysfunction progression, the night pacing and disorientation getting worse.
- Mobility issues, the dog or cat that cannot rise, walk to the bowl or use the tray.
Age is not on that list: 'advanced age is not the only criterion for making medical decisions', and the dog age in human years guide explains why a 12-year-old Labrador and a 12-year-old Chihuahua are at different points of their expected lives. The 2016 AAHA/IAAHPC end-of-life guideline frames both sides: 'both euthanasia and hospice-supported natural death are medically and ethically acceptable options', the caregiver 'has the ethical and legal right and responsibility to decide if, when, where, and by whom a terminally ill animal will be euthanized', and it is 'the veterinarian's duty to recommend euthanasia to relieve the patient's suffering when palliation no longer meets the animal's physical, social, or emotional needs'; letting a pet die 'without euthanasia and without effective palliative measures while under the care of a licensed veterinarian' is 'considered unethical and inhumane';. Your nearby registered veterinarian decides what applies to your animal; this page gives you the words to ask with.
Mark each day good or bad, keep dated phone videos of the animal rising, walking and eating, and bring them to the vet. A pet holding still on a clinic table hides the pattern, and the pattern, not the worst day, is what the decision rests on.
What pet euthanasia is, and what happens in the room
Pet euthanasia is a veterinarian ending an animal's life 'in a way that minimizes or eliminates pain and distress', in the AVMA's definition, and for a dog or cat it is an intravenous injection of an anaesthetic-class drug in overdose, usually after a sedative, with you allowed in the room. The word is the Greek eu, good, and thanatos, death.
The AVMA's 2020 guideline calls 'intravenous injection of a barbituric acid derivative' 'the preferred method for euthanasia of dogs, cats, and other small companion animals', given 'alone as the sole agent of euthanasia or as the second step after sedation or general anesthesia', and the 2016 AAHA/IAAHPC guideline adds that the AVMA 'recommends the administration of pre-euthanasia sedation or anesthesia to companion animals, especially when clients are present', with an intravenous catheter placed first American Animal Hospital Association…. This page names no drug or dose; the vet chooses both for your animal's weight and condition.
What you see is short. Euthanasia 'is best conducted in quiet, familiar environments when practical', the owner 'should be permitted to be present during euthanasia whenever feasible' and 'fully informed about the process they are about to observe, including the potential for excitation during anesthesia';. The animal loses consciousness first, then breathing and the heart stop; 'upon verification of death, owners should be verbally notified';. Some unconscious animals take a few deep, gasping breaths; the AVMA calls this agonal breathing and says that 'while disconcerting for observers, because the animal is unconscious, agonal breathing has limited impact on its welfare';. The trade-offs of sedating first are in the table, and the steps of a well-run visit follow it.
| Advantages | Disadvantages |
|---|---|
| Minimises the patient's anxiety | Increased expense |
| Eliminates pain from the underlying disease | May alter body physiology, making certain techniques more difficult |
| Increases the technique options open to the vet | Unpredictable transition into sedation |
| Eliminates the need for restraint during euthanasia | Potential for side effects such as vomiting or laboured breathing |
| May lessen peri-mortem side effects such as agonal breathing |
- Book by phone and settle the paperwork first, so nothing interrupts the goodbye; an Indian vet takes signed consent because the VCI code requires it.
- Choose the place: a private room away from the waiting area, or your home, which 'avoids subjecting the patient to travel' and 'tends to minimize time constraints'.
- Sedate first. The animal relaxes over a few minutes and a catheter is placed while you hold it.
- The final injection, given intravenously; unconsciousness within seconds, death within a minute or two.
- Confirmation. The vet checks the heart and tells you plainly that the animal has died.
- Time alone. Clients 'should be offered time alone with their pet whenever possible', and whether you stay or step out, 'the individual should not be made to feel guilty'.
- Arrange what comes next before the visit: 'arrangements should be made in advance for transportation and final disposition of the patient's body by cremation or burial'.
Two fears deserve a plain answer. On a natural death, 'contrary to a common fear, there is no evidence to suggest that pain suddenly intensifies during active dying';. On method, the AVMA lists what is never acceptable for a dog or cat: 'household chemicals, disinfectants, cleaning agents, and pesticides', hypothermia and drowning. A humane, painless death is a veterinary procedure by a registered vet, and nothing else is an alternative.
Is pet euthanasia legal in India? What the Act, the Rules and the VCI code say
Pet euthanasia by a registered veterinarian is lawful in India: no statute prohibits it, the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1960 makes the manner of killing the offence rather than the ending of a suffering animal's life, and the Veterinary Council of India's 1992 code lists a certificate for euthanasia among a vet's documents and makes euthanasia without written consent professional misconduct Veterinary Council of India.
The Act never uses the word. Its text, as amended in 1982, contains neither 'euthanasia' nor 'pet'; the provisions that bear on a pet's death are in the table. A veterinary injection that induces unconsciousness before death is the opposite of the 'unnecessarily cruel manner' section 11(1)(l) punishes, and in every case the Act puts the decision on a vet's certificate and the method on 'without unnecessary suffering';.
The instruments, quoted
| Instrument | What it says | What it means for a pet |
|---|---|---|
| PCA Act 1960, section 11(1)(l) | Cruelty to kill 'any animal (including stray dogs) by using the method of strychnine injections in the heart or in any other unnecessarily cruel manner' | The manner is the offence; a humane veterinary death is outside it |
| PCA Act 1960, section 11(1)(j) | Cruelty for an owner 'without reasonable excuse' to permit 'any diseased or disabled animal, of which he is the owner, to die in any street' | Letting a sick animal die untreated in public is the offence the Act names |
| PCA Act 1960, section 13 | A court may order a cruelly kept animal destroyed 'if the court is satisfied that it would be cruel to keep the animal alive', on 'the evidence of a veterinary officer'; a police officer may act on a vet's certificate and a magistrate's order | The Act's own euthanasia provision, for animals in other hands, always on a veterinary certificate |
| ABC Rules 2023, Rule 15 | 'Incurably ill and mortally wounded dogs' 'shall be euthanised during specified hours in a humane manner by intravenous administration of sodium pentobarbital or any other approved humane manner, by a qualified veterinarian'; 'no dog shall be euthanised in the presence of another dog'; records kept | The Government's written standard for a humane veterinary death, binding on street-dog programmes |
| VCI Regulations 1992, regulation 42(3) | Among a vet's lawful certificates: a certificate for euthanasia where treatment is unlikely to be rewarding, and a certificate of performance of euthanasia; an untrue certificate risks erasure from the register | The certificate of performance is the death certificate the crematoria and insurers ask for |
| VCI Regulations 1992, regulation 42(9) | Professional misconduct: 'before euthanasia or before performing an operation not obtaining in writing the consent from the client' | The consent form you sign is required by the code, not invented by the clinic |
| Supreme Court order, 19 May 2026 | Authorities may, 'in accordance with the Animal Birth Control Rules and other applicable statutory protocols, take legally permissible measures, including euthanasia in cases involving incurably ill, rabid or demonstrably dangerous/aggressive dogs' | About free-ranging dogs; Kerala's August 2026 procedure under it requires 'a qualified veterinary surgeon' and no other dog present |
The Rules bind municipal street-dog programmes, not your vet's care of your own animal, but a clinic that gives a pet the same humane death is inside the standard they set. The Supreme Court's order and the Kerala procedure concern free-ranging dogs, covered in the free-ranging dogs guide Down To Earth, Supreme Court allows… The Hindu, Keralam govt approves SOP…. The VCI gazette scan's text layer is imperfect; the quotations above correct its obvious optical-reading defects.
The page ranking first for 'dog euthanasia india' says 'euthanasia is legal in India if performed under veterinary supervision' but quotes no section; a Reddit comment on the same results page says it is illegal for pets. Read as written, the Act punishes killing in an unnecessarily cruel manner and letting a diseased animal die in the street, provides for destruction on a vet's certificate where it would be cruel to keep the animal alive, and is silent on an owner's request to a vet; the 2023 Rules prescribe the veterinary method; the VCI code presumes the procedure and regulates it Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 Veterinary Council of India. A vet who declines on conscience may withdraw under the same code; the answer is another registered vet, never a non-veterinary route.
What euthanasia costs at a government hospital
What it costs is barely printed. The ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute's referral polyclinic at Bareilly prints 'Euthanasia' at Rs 150 for pets in its charges effective July 2022, plus a Rs 50 registration fee and tax; Rs 150 divided by 84.38 is 1.78 and by 74 is 2.03, a rupee-native fee. No private clinic page opened for this guide prints one; the Delhi cremation company that ranks for the query lists 'Pet Euthanasia' as a service and answers its cost question with 'please contact us directly for a transparent, no-obligation quote';. Ask your clinic for the consultation, the sedative, the procedure and the home visit separately, before the day, and whether the death certificate is included.
If your pet dies at home: the first 24 hours, the clocks and the documents
If your pet dies at home, Mumbai's law gives you three hours to report the death to the municipal health office and Delhi's gives you 24 hours to convey the body to an appointed place or notify the Commissioner; in the same window you need a vet's death certificate, a booking, and a way to keep the body cool The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act.
Mumbai's clock is the shortest. Section 385(2) of the Mumbai Municipal Corporation Act 1888 says the occupier of premises where an animal dies 'shall within three hours after the death of such animal or, if the death occurs at night, within three hours after sunrise, report the death of such animal at the municipal health department office of the division', 'and shall not unless authorised by the Commissioner in this behalf, remove or permit to be removed the carcass'; the Commissioner must 'provide for the removal of the carcasses of all animals dying within Brihan Mumbai', may charge the owner for it, and a failure to give notice is fined up to Rs 1,000, minimum Rs 100. The BMC routes removal of dead animals through its Solid Waste Management Department and lists 'Dead animal(s)' as a complaint resolved within 48 hours through the ward office, the Swachhta app or the 1916 line Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai; booking its animal crematorium is the authorised route.
Delhi's clock is 24 hours. Section 393 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act 1957 says 'whenever any animal in charge of any person dies, the person in charge thereof shall within twenty-four hours either (a) convey the carcass to a place provided or appointed under section 352 for the final disposal of the carcasses of dead animals, or (b) give notice of the death to the Commissioner whereupon he shall cause the carcass to be disposed of', at a fee set by public notice. Other cities have their own Acts; these two are the ones this guide opened.
The document that unlocks everything is the death certificate. The VCI code lists 'a certificate of performance of euthanasia' among a registered vet's certificates, so a euthanised pet leaves the clinic with one; for a death at home, call your vet the same day. The BMC accepts 'any Death Certificate issued by an Official Veterinarian of a Dog Sterilization Center / Municipal Veterinary Officer / Private Registered Veterinarian doctor', and every insurer on this page wants one, HDFC ERGO with 'a coloured photograph or 30 second video of the Insured Pet' and notice 'within 24hrs for Mortality Benefit'; HDFC ERGO General Insurance Co. Ltd. Go Digit General Insurance Ltd.. Keeping the body until the slot is a real problem in an Indian summer; the Delhi and Bengaluru services rent a 'Dog Freezer box' and 'Freezer Box Services' from Rs 2,000 to 'preserve your pet's body until the funeral', and Rs 2,000 divided by 84.38 is 23.70 and by 74 is 27.03, a rupee-native price. The first day's checklist is below.
- Confirm the death with a vet and ask for the death certificate with the animal's identification, the date and the time on it.
- Report or notify within the clock: three hours at the ward health office in Mumbai, 24 hours to convey or notify in Delhi The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act.
- Book the crematorium, municipal or private, and ask what documents the slot needs.
- Keep the body cool and wrapped, or rent a freezer box if the slot is hours away.
- Notify the insurer within 24 hours if there is a policy, and photograph the animal for the claim.
- Do not bury or burn on open ground; the next section says why.
Burial or cremation: what the law in a city allows, and the home burial question
Burial or cremation is a legal question before it is a personal one in an Indian city: Mumbai's Act makes it an offence to dispose of a carcass anywhere but a place the Commissioner has appointed, Delhi's Act gives two lawful routes and home burial is not one of them, the Animal Birth Control Rules 2023 tell local authorities to incinerate carcasses and use deep burial only where an incinerator is not feasible, and the Solid Waste Management Rules 2026 do not mention carcasses at all The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 Ministry of Environment.
Mumbai is explicit. Section 372(g) of its Act says no person 'shall deposit the skin or otherwise dispose of the carcass of any dead animal at a place not provided or appointed for this purpose under section 367', section 367 requires the Commissioner to provide those places, and the penalty schedule fines the offence up to Rs 5,000, minimum Rs 1,000. A garden, a society lawn or a plot by the creek is not an appointed place. Delhi's section 393 allows only conveying the body 'to a place provided or appointed under section 352' or notifying the Commissioner; a hole behind the house is neither. The Master Plan for Delhi 2021 does provide for the alternative, since a 2016 modification: 'new burial grounds/crematoriums are to be planned for pet and stray animals', up to 0.2 hectare per 10 lakh population, 'located separately from burial grounds, crematoriums and cemetery'.
What the national rules say
The national rules point the same way. Rule 10(1)(d) of the Animal Birth Control Rules 2023 requires 'incinerators to be installed by the local authority for disposal of organs and carcasses and where an incinerator is not feasible, deep burial method may be adopted'. The Solid Waste Management Rules 2026, in force from 1 April 2026, never use the words 'carcass' or 'dead animal'; their duty on every waste generator, rule 5(1)(f), is to 'not throw, burn or bury the solid waste generated by them, on streets, open public spaces outside his premises or dispose in the drain or water bodies', and whether a pet's body is solid waste is left to the by-laws each local body must frame by 31 March 2027. So the 2026 Rules neither permit nor forbid a home burial; the municipal Acts do the forbidding. No Animal Welfare Board of India advisory on pet burial was found on the Board's site; its published carcass guidance is the rabies clause and the incinerator duty.
Two ranking pages tell you otherwise. Last Journey says 'if you have a house with a garden or plot of land, you may bury your pet at home' and tells you to 'dig a pit or hole at least 3-4 feet deep' 'away from the water source';; Swarga Rath's Kolkata page answers 'Can I bury my dog in my backyard' as a FAQ. Neither cites a by-law, and both sell cremation; outside a municipal corporation, panchayat and state rules this guide has not opened apply. The Bengaluru burials Deccan Herald reported at 'upwards of Rs 2,000' while the BBMP crematorium was shut, and PawSpace's 'Pet Burial' from Rs 9,000, are burials at a private facility, not at home.
An open pyre in a city is what every instrument on this page points away from. In Mumbai it is disposal at a place not appointed under section 367, the same offence as home burial, with the same Rs 1,000 to Rs 5,000 fine. In Delhi it is neither of section 393's two routes. Section 19(5) of the Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act 1981 lets a state government prohibit 'the burning of any material (not being fuel) in any air pollution control area' that 'may cause or is likely to cause air pollution';. Rule 5(1)(f) of the 2026 Rules bars burning waste on open ground, and the standard the Government sets for its own bodies is an incinerator. This is what the rules say; it is not advice to try it anywhere they are silent.
Individual, partitioned and communal cremation
So the practical choice in a city is between three kinds of cremation, and the private pages define them. Last Journey's Delhi page sells 'communal pet cremation', in which 'your beloved pet will be cremated with other pet animals' and you do not get the ashes; 'partitioned pet cremation', 'a little bit similar to communal cremation but there is a partition between all the pet animals', with 'a chance of mixing the remains of your pet with others'; and 'private pet cremation', after which 'you can get the ashes';. Vatika's Raipur page lets you attend and collect ashes 'only for private cremation';. If the ashes matter, the question for any facility is whether your animal is alone in the chamber; the municipal centres answer it with a per-animal slot.
Municipal crematoria: the BMC at Malad, Mahalaxmi and Deonar, the MCD at Dwarka, and what other cities print
A municipal crematorium is the cheapest and most lawful place to cremate a pet in an Indian metro: the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation runs animal crematoriums at Mahalaxmi, Malad and Deonar, free, booked on its Veterinary Health Department portal against a death certificate and, for a pet dog, the municipal licence; the Municipal Corporation of Delhi's centre at Sector 29, Dwarka, charges Rs 2,000 for an animal under 30 kg and Rs 3,000 above Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation Hindustan Times, MCD's pet crematorium….
Mumbai's service is on the BMC's own pages. The Year Book 2026 records that 'the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation has started operating animal crematoriums for Mumbai City and Mumbai Suburbs at Mahalaxmi, Malad, and Deonar';, and the portal dates the first: 'BMC's first and free crematorium service for animals was inaugurated in September 2023';. Its 'Incineration Booking' button opens a mobile OTP, a Mumbai pincode and the terms: a death certificate from a registered veterinarian, 'in the case of pets (dogs), a municipal license is required', and for strays brought by a citizen one identity proof and one address proof, or an AWBI stray-caretaker card. So a pet dog needs the BMC licence, covered in the dog registration guide; the pincode list runs through Mumbai's 400001 to 400104 codes, so a Thane or Navi Mumbai address has no slot, which matches the ranking blog's unsourced line that Malad is 'free for registered pets' only; and the terms say nothing about pet cats beyond 'other small strays', so a cat owner should book and ask.
Delhi's Dwarka centre
Delhi's centre is on press and a corporation resolution, not on the MCD's site. The South Delhi Municipal Corporation approved the rates in October 2020, 'Rs 2,000 for a dog weighing up to 30kg biomass and Rs 3,000 for the over-30kg category', with strays 'cremated free' and cats and other small animals accepted. Hindustan Times reported it 'fully operational following trial runs' on 5 January 2024, 'on a site of 700 square metre inside the MCD dog complex at Sector 29, Dwarka', with two CNG furnaces, upkeep carried by the NGO Green Revolution Foundation under a public-private partnership, a capacity of '10 private pets and 15 small stray animals in a day', and a prayer service among the paid extras. On 18 and 21 September 2026 the MCD portal's cremation-grounds page listed the city's human grounds and no pet-crematorium page, so the rates are as reported, not as printed by the MCD.
Bengaluru, Pune and Ahmedabad
Other cities are thinner on the record. Bengaluru's BBMP crematorium 'charged a fee of Rs 800 for dogs and Rs 300 for cats', Deccan Herald reported in June 2025; the BBMP's online crematorium booking, opened on 21 September 2026, has zones, two burner machines and 16 hourly slots for human cremation and no animal option. The ranking blog places the facility at Sumanahalli on Magadi Road, says it 'shut in April 2025 after a chimney collapse and only reopened in January 2026', and gives Pune's PMC incinerator at Sangamvadi as 'free to Rs 1,000-2,000', the PCMC pet cemetery at Nehru Nagar at Rs 1,000, and Ahmedabad's AMC CNG crematorium at 'around Rs 700 per pet'; none is on a municipal page this guide could open, so they are that page's claims, to be confirmed by phone before you drive.
| City and facility | Run by | Fee for a pet | Documents | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mumbai: Malad (West), Mahalaxmi, Deonar | BMC Veterinary Health Department | Free ('first and free crematorium service', September 2023) | Vet's death certificate; municipal licence for a pet dog; ID and address proof for a stray | BMC Year Book 2026 and the portal's booking terms |
| Delhi: MCD dog complex, Sector 29, Dwarka | MCD, operated by Green Revolution Foundation under PPP | Rs 2,000 under 30 kg, Rs 3,000 above; strays free | Not printed on an MCD page | SDMC resolution reported by The Times of India, October 2020; Hindustan Times, January 2024 |
| Bengaluru: BBMP animal crematorium, Sumanahalli | BBMP | Rs 800 dog, Rs 300 cat (as reported) | Not printed on a BBMP page; online booking has no animal option | Deccan Herald, June 2025; BBMP booking form opened 21 September 2026 |
| Pune: PMC incinerator, Sangamvadi; PCMC pet cemetery, Nehru Nagar | PMC; PCMC | 'Free to Rs 1,000-2,000'; Rs 1,000 (ranking blog's claims) | Blog says carry Aadhaar at PCMC | dogwithblog.in, unsourced |
| Ahmedabad: AMC CNG crematorium, Behrampura | AMC | 'Around Rs 700 per pet' (ranking blog's claim) | Not stated | dogwithblog.in, unsourced |
Call before you go: Bengaluru's facility has closed for months at a time, and Dwarka's operator told the press it receives two to three requests a day on two furnaces Deccan Herald, High burial cost strains pet….
What it costs: municipal rates against the private pages, with the exchange-rate test
Pet cremation in India costs nothing at Mumbai's municipal centres, Rs 2,000 to Rs 3,000 at Delhi's, Rs 300 to Rs 800 at Bengaluru's as reported, and Rs 3,000 to Rs 16,000 at the private services whose pages print a figure, with a Bengaluru sanctuary's farewell package at Rs 29,999; every private figure is the service's own claim on 21 September 2026 and every one is a rupee-native price VOSD (Voice of Stray Dogs).
The private pages price by weight and by fuel, and the table carries their figures. PawSpace in Bengaluru prints 'starts from' prices and answers its own cost question with 'the price ranges between Rs 5,000-15,000 depending on your selection'; Vatika Animal Sanctuary in Raipur prints a weight table with ash collection plus Rs 3,000 and late-night service plus Rs 1,000; VOSD's sanctuary near Bengaluru sells the cremation with pickup, drop and a day or overnight stay for two or three people at 'INR 29,999';; Swarga Rath gives Kolkata's range; the Mumbai blog gives 'Rs 3,000-12,000 for individual cremation depending on size and provider'; and Hindustan Times put a private electric cremation of a 25 kg dog in Delhi at Rs 9,000 to Rs 10,000. The Delhi company that ranks for the query prints no price and asks you to call for 'a transparent, no-obligation quote';.
| Option | City | Price | Divided by 84.38 and by 74 | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BMC animal crematorium | Mumbai | Free | n/a | BMC portal and Year Book |
| MCD Dwarka, under 30 kg / over 30 kg | Delhi | Rs 2,000 / Rs 3,000 | 23.70 and 27.03 / 35.55 and 40.54 | SDMC resolution as reported, 2020; HT, 2024 |
| BBMP animal crematorium, dog / cat | Bengaluru | Rs 800 / Rs 300 | 9.48 and 10.81 / 3.56 and 4.05 | Deccan Herald, June 2025 |
| PawSpace electric / wooden / burial, 'starts from' | Bengaluru | Rs 7,999 / Rs 16,000 / Rs 9,000 | 94.80 and 108.09 / 189.62 and 216.22 / 106.66 and 121.62 | Company's own page |
| PawSpace add-ons: freezer box, transfer van, pandit for last rites, ash plantation | Bengaluru | From Rs 2,000, Rs 2,000, Rs 6,000, Rs 7,000 | 23.70 and 27.03 to 82.96 and 94.59 | Company's own page |
| Vatika Animal Sanctuary, by weight: under 5 kg, 5 to 15, 15 to 25, over 25 | Raipur | Rs 3,000, Rs 5,000, Rs 7,000, Rs 10,000; ashes plus Rs 3,000 | 35.55 and 40.54 to 118.51 and 135.14 | Organisation's own page |
| VOSD Last Rites package | Near Bengaluru | Rs 29,999 | 355.52 and 405.39 | Organisation's own page |
| Private electric cremation, 25 kg dog | Delhi | Rs 9,000 to Rs 10,000 | 106.66 and 121.62 to 118.51 and 135.14 | Hindustan Times, January 2024 |
| Private services, individual cremation | Kolkata | Rs 2,000 to Rs 6,000 | 23.70 and 27.03 to 71.11 and 81.08 | Swarga Rath's page |
None of those quotients is a whole number of dollars or a figure a foreign price list would print, so the private pages price in rupees rather than converting an American list. A 'starts from' price is the floor for the smallest animal and the plainest service, and the extras add up: on PawSpace a freezer box, a van, a pandit and an ash plantation come to Rs 17,000 on top of the Rs 7,999 electric cremation. A service that cannot say whether your animal is alone in the chamber is selling a communal cremation at an individual price.
Insurance pays a little of this, on some policies. Bajaj pays 'INR 3000 for cremation, burial and disposal of the carcass' on top of its mortality benefit whenever a mortality claim is admissible; Generali Central's Funeral Cost Cover pays 'a fixed amount of INR 5,000' towards 'burial or electric cremation of the Insured Dog at specified facilities', not 'if aged 8 years and over at the time of death';; Digit's optional Cremation Expenses cover pays 'up to 1% of Sum Insured provided under Section 8, upto Rs. 1000';. Rs 3,000 covers a Delhi municipal cremation and Rs 5,000 a small private one; none covers a wooden pyre or a sanctuary package.
Grief after pet loss: what the studies measured, and who to call in India
Grief after pet loss is severe in about 30 percent of owners, by the one veterinary study that measured it with a denominator, 177 clients of 14 Ontario practices surveyed 6 to 43 days after a dog or cat died, and it meets the clinical threshold for prolonged grief disorder in 7.5 percent of bereaved owners in a 2026 UK study of 975 adults, a rate the authors call 'similar to many types of human losses';.
The numbers first, because the ranking pages have none. In the Ontario study 'approximately 30% of participants experienced severe grief', the strongest predictors were attachment, euthanasia, the owner's sense of how society regards a pet's death, and the veterinary team's support, and the authors concluded that 'grief for pets is different than grief associated with other losses';. The 2016 AAHA/IAAHPC guideline carries it as '30% of pet owners will experience significant grief following the loss of a pet and 50% will question their decision following euthanasia', and adds that euthanasia 'leaves significant numbers of caregivers struggling with doubts regarding the decisions they made, which prolongs and complicates their grief experience';. The 2026 UK study changes the frame: of 975 adults, 32.6 percent had lost 'a beloved pet', 21.0 percent of those named it the most distressing bereavement of their lives, the conditional rate of prolonged grief disorder after a pet's death was 7.5 percent, pet loss accounted for 8.1 percent of all prolonged grief in the population, and the symptoms 'manifest in the same way regardless of the species of the deceased', though ICD-11 and DSM-5-TR do not yet allow the diagnosis after a pet's death. Neither study has been run in India, and nothing about an Indian household suggests a smaller number.
The shape of it is described the same way by the guideline and the welfare pages: a response 'often as intense as the grief experienced following the loss of a family member or friend', running through denial, bargaining, anger, depression and acceptance, for which 'referral to professional grief-support counseling can be a helpful option';. Humane World adds that the process 'is not linear', that guilt 'about what they did or did not do' is part of it, that 'suppressing your feelings of sadness can prolong your grief', and that replaying the last moments is the trap: 'your pet's pain has passed. You are the one in pain now';.
Who to call in India
Who to call is where India is thin, and this page will not invent a number. The model is the Blue Cross Pet Loss Support service in the United Kingdom: 30 years old, a free and confidential helpline, an email answered within 48 hours, a webchat 'staffed by trained Pet Loss Support volunteers', a moderated Facebook group, all 'from 8.30am to 8.30pm, every day', with the Samaritans for the hours between. No Indian pet-loss helpline was found on an official page, and a number copied from a service provider's site is not a source. What India has is Tele MANAS, the Ministry of Health's national tele mental health programme: toll-free 14416 or 1-800-891-4416, launched on 10 October 2022 with NIMHANS as apex centre, past 10 lakh calls by May 2024. It is a general counselling line, and the number if the grief is not lifting or the thought of joining the animal has crossed your mind. What helps, by the guideline and the welfare pages, is listed below Humane World for Animals.
- Say it to someone who listens. The guideline names the attending vet or a staff member; the Blue Cross model exists because a trained stranger is sometimes easier than family.
- Keep a memorial. Ashes in a place you chose, a tree, a memory box with the collar, a letter to the animal.
- Stop replaying the last day. Focus 'on the life you shared with your pet'.
- Expect the wave to come back. Acceptance 'occurs when they accept the reality of their loss and remember their animal companion with decreasing sadness'.
- Get help when it does not lift. A 7.5 percent rate of prolonged grief disorder is one owner in 13; if months pass and daily life is still stalled, 14416 is free Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.
Children, the pet that is left behind, and when to get another
Children need the truth about a pet's death in words their age can carry, the surviving dog or cat changes its behaviour in three out of four households and settles within about six months, and the right time for another animal is a decision no source prescribes: the paediatric psychiatrists, the welfare page and the one survey with a denominator agree on that much Walker JK, Waran NK Humane World for Animals.
Children understand death by age. The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry says 'preschool children usually see death as temporary and reversible, a belief reinforced by cartoon characters who die and come to life again', while 'children between five and nine begin to think more like adults about death, yet they still believe it will never happen to them or anyone they know';; its companion sheet says a pet provides 'lessons about life, including reproduction, birth, illnesses, accidents, death, and bereavement';. Humane World's advice follows: 'trying to protect your child by saying the pet ran away doesn't allow your child to move through the grief process in an emotionally healthy way'; let the child say goodbye if the death is expected, and if it was sudden 'share the truth of what happened in an age-appropriate way';. Two cautions transfer directly: younger children 'frequently believe they are the cause of what happens around them', and a child 'who is frightened about attending a funeral should not be forced to go', while 'a plan to honor or remember' with a candle, a scrapbook or photographs helps; your own visible grief 'may reassure your child that sadness is OK'; Humane World for Animals. The signs that a child needs professional help are an extended loss of interest in daily life, sleep or appetite, acting much younger, withdrawal from friends and a sharp drop at school.
The other animal in the house grieves in its own way, and one study counted it: owners of 159 dogs and 152 cats across Australia and New Zealand answered a questionnaire after a companion animal died.
| Reported change | Dogs (159) | Cats (152) |
|---|---|---|
| More affectionate or attention-seeking behaviour | 74 percent | 78 percent |
| Territorial behaviour, including seeking out the dead animal's favourite spot | 60 percent | 63 percent |
| Ate less | 35 percent | not reported for cats |
| Ate more slowly | 31 percent | not reported for cats |
| Slept more | 34 percent | not reported for cats |
| Vocalised more often | not reported for dogs | 43 percent |
| Vocalised more loudly | not reported for dogs | 32 percent |
| Median duration of the changes | under 6 months | under 6 months |
Those are owner reports, and the authors say only that the loss 'had an impact on the remaining animal';. Surviving pets 'thrive on consistency', so 'try to maintain a normal routine', and 'if symptoms continue, take your surviving pet to your veterinarian to rule out medical causes';. A dog that eats less and sleeps more for a few weeks is inside the survey's numbers; a cat that stops eating for days is a medical emergency whatever the reason.
On another pet, no source on this page gives a date, and neither does this one. Humane World's position is that 'rushing into this decision isn't fair to you or your new pet', that 'a new animal cannot replace the one you lost', and that 'you'll know when the time is right to adopt a new pet after giving yourself time to grieve'; for an older owner living alone the decision 'can be complicated by the possibility that the pet may outlive them', which in India means naming who takes the animal before you bring it home. When you are ready, the adopting a dog in India guide and the adopting a cat in India guide cover the shelters, the AWBI adoption protocol and the paperwork.
Insurance and the paperwork: what the five Indian wordings pay on death or euthanasia, the licence, the microchip
Of the five Indian pet insurance wordings this site has read, one pays the mortality cover when a vet puts the animal to sleep for incurable suffering (Bajaj), one excludes euthanasia in so many words (Digit), and three never mention it (HDFC ERGO, Generali Central, New India); every one wants a vet's death certificate with a photograph, and the Delhi licence must be surrendered when the dog dies Go Digit General Insurance Ltd. Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
Read the mortality clause before the day, because the wordings disagree, and the table carries each one. Bajaj's Section 3 pays the sum insured 'if the Insured Pet dies because of an Illness or Accident or as a result of the Vet putting Insured Pet to sleep in order to alleviate its incurable and inhumane suffering', but not 'if the Insured Pet is put to sleep due to aggression unless this can be attributed to an Illness and can be certified by a Veterinary Doctor';. Digit lists 'ix. Euthanasia/Mercy killing will not be covered' and adds in exclusion 43, 'Your policy does not cover euthanasia of your Insured Pet. We will also not cover the cost of veterinary consultations/visits or prescribed medications needed to carry out this procedure';. HDFC ERGO pays a Funeral Expenses sum on a covered death and never uses the word; Generali Central has no death benefit beyond its Funeral Cost Cover and a Terminal Illness Cover paid 'provided that the Insured Dog survives for at least 30 days from the date of diagnosis'; New India insures 'against death due to accident and/or diseases', excludes 'intentional slaughter of the animal', and is silent on euthanasia Generali Central Insurance Co. Ltd. The New India Assurance Co. Ltd.. Where a wording is silent, ask the insurer in writing, before the procedure, whether a certified euthanasia for an insured illness is a death 'due to' that illness; the pet insurance guide reads the same wordings clause by clause.
| Insurer and document | Pays on death | Euthanasia | Funeral or cremation money | Documents for the claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bajaj General, Pet Insurance wording | Sum insured on death from illness or accident | Paid when 'the Vet putting Insured Pet to sleep in order to alleviate its incurable and inhumane suffering'; not for aggression unless illness is certified | INR 3,000 on top of the mortality sum | Death certificate with coloured photographs, vet papers and bills |
| Go Digit, Pet Insurance wording | Section 8, Plan A accident, Plan B illness; not for adopted or gifted pets; policy cancelled once a death claim is accepted | Excluded: 'Euthanasia/Mercy killing will not be covered'; consultations for it excluded too | Optional Cover 6, 1 percent of the Section 8 sum up to Rs 1,000 | Death certificate or post-mortem report with microchip number, breed, colour, age, owner, date and time of death, photographs |
| HDFC ERGO, Paws n Claws wording | Funeral Expenses sum on death from an event covered under Section 1 or 2 | Not mentioned | The Funeral Expenses sum in the schedule | Attested death certificate; coloured photograph or 30-second video; notice within 24 hours, papers within 15 days |
| Generali Central, Dog Health Cover prospectus | No death benefit; Terminal Illness lump sum (cancer, cardiac dysfunction, leptospirosis, kidney failure, canine distemper) if the dog survives 30 days from diagnosis | Not mentioned | INR 5,000 Funeral Cost Cover, not if the dog is 8 or over at death | Photographs, proof of burial or cremation, death certificate or post-mortem report |
| New India Assurance, Dog Insurance page | Rs 25,000 sum insured on death from accident or disease, ages 8 weeks to 8 years | Not mentioned; 'intentional slaughter' excluded | None | A claim form is linked from the product page; the page itself prints no document list |
The licence and the microchip
The municipal licence has a step for the death, in Delhi at least. The MCD's pet-registration SOP, under section 399 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, says an owner 'can surrender its Pet Dog Certificate' 'if the pet dog expires: The owner must notify the authorities and surrender the Pet Dog Certificate after the dog has passed away'; the surrender carries no fee and needs only the applicant's identity proof, against Rs 500 for a new registration or renewal. Mumbai's dog licence under section 191 of its Act (the Year Book cites 191(A), the BMC's FAQ 191(B)) is issued online and is required for a pet dog's cremation at the BMC's centres; the BMC pages print no surrender step, so it lapses at its renewal date Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation. Chennai's licence, the one Indian city licence that requires a microchip, is covered in the Chennai pet licence guide.
The microchip is the last record to close. India has no national registry, so the number lives wherever you put it, a private seller's database, the Chennai portal or a foreign registry; the microchipping guide names them and explains how a record is updated. Tell whichever registry holds the number, and keep the implant certificate with the death certificate, because Digit's claim documents ask for the microchip number on the certificate itself. The vet keeps a register of every certificate issued, so a lost copy can be replaced from the clinic.
Death certificate from a registered vet, with the animal's identification and the date and time on it. Report or notify the municipal office inside the clock (Mumbai three hours, Delhi 24). Book the crematorium and carry the licence and the certificate. Notify the insurer within 24 hours, with a photograph. Surrender the licence where the portal has the step, tell the microchip registry, and keep the certificate, the cremation receipt and the ashes' paperwork in one folder for the claim The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act HDFC ERGO General Insurance Co. Ltd. Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
Questions people ask Google about pet cremation, euthanasia and burial in India
What to do with a pet that has died?
Call your vet for a death certificate, then use an appointed route. In Mumbai, report the death at the ward health office within three hours and book the BMC's free animal crematorium; in Delhi, within 24 hours convey the body to the MCD's Dwarka centre or notify the Corporation; elsewhere, ring the municipal veterinary office or a private service. Do not bury or burn the body on open ground inside a city.
What is pet cremation?
Pet cremation is the incineration of a dead dog, cat or other pet in a furnace built for animals, gas-fired at the municipal centres in Mumbai and Delhi, with the ashes returned when the animal is cremated alone. Delhi's MCD centre at Sector 29, Dwarka, runs two CNG furnaces at Rs 2,000 under 30 kg and Rs 3,000 above; Mumbai's BMC calls its free service 'incineration booking'.
Can I cremate my pet at home?
No. In Mumbai, disposing of a carcass anywhere but a place appointed under section 367 of the municipal Act is an offence with a fine of Rs 1,000 to Rs 5,000; in Delhi, section 393 allows only conveying the body to an appointed place or notifying the Corporation; and section 19(5) of the Air Act lets a state prohibit burning any material in an air pollution control area. The lawful route is a municipal or private incinerator.
Where can I burial my pet in Mumbai?
The BMC's own pages offer cremation, not burial. Its Veterinary Health Department runs free animal crematoriums at Malad (West), Mahalaxmi and Deonar, booked on its portal against a vet's death certificate and, for a pet dog, the municipal licence. No BMC page opened for this guide names a pet burial ground, and section 372(g) of the Mumbai Municipal Corporation Act makes burial at any unappointed place an offence.
What documents are needed for cremation in Mumbai?
The BMC portal's booking terms ask for a death certificate from a registered veterinarian, accepted from a municipal, sterilisation-centre or private registered vet; for a pet dog, the municipal licence; and for a stray dog, cat or other small animal brought by a citizen, one identity proof (Aadhaar, PAN, driving licence or ration card) and one address proof, or an AWBI stray-caretaker card. Booking starts with a mobile OTP and a Mumbai pincode.
How much does euthanizing a dog cost in India?
The one printed government figure is Rs 150 for a pet at the ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute's referral polyclinic in Bareilly, in charges effective July 2022, plus a Rs 50 registration fee for a dog or cat and tax. No private clinic page opened for this guide prints a euthanasia fee; the Delhi cremation company that lists 'Pet Euthanasia' tells you to call for a quote. Ask for the consultation, sedative, procedure and home-visit fees separately.
What is the average price for a dog cremation?
There is no published average, only printed rates. Delhi's MCD centre charges Rs 2,000 for a dog under 30 kg and Rs 3,000 above, Bengaluru's BBMP crematorium was reported at Rs 800, Mumbai's BMC is free, and private pages price by weight and fuel: Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000 at a Raipur sanctuary, from Rs 7,999 electric or Rs 16,000 wooden in Bengaluru, and Rs 9,000 to Rs 10,000 for a 25 kg dog at a private Delhi facility.
How long after death can a pet be cremated?
The law sets a clock for reporting the death, not for the cremation: three hours in Mumbai under section 385 of the municipal Act, 24 hours in Delhi under section 393. The cremation follows the slot. Vatika's Raipur page says a pet 'may not be cremated immediately' but 'at the end of the day or the following day', with a deep freezer in between, and the Delhi and Bengaluru services rent a freezer box from about Rs 2,000 for the wait.
Do pets get cremated individually?
Only when you book an individual cremation. Last Journey's Delhi page defines the three products it sells: communal, in which 'your beloved pet will be cremated with other pet animals' and no ashes come back; partitioned, a shared chamber with a divider and 'a chance of mixing the remains'; and private, a separate cremation after which 'you can get the ashes'. Vatika lets you attend and collect ashes only for a private cremation.
What should I do if my pet dies at home?
Confirm the death with your vet and ask for the death certificate with the animal's identification, date and time on it; keep the body cool and wrapped; report the death inside the municipal clock, three hours in Mumbai and 24 hours in Delhi; book a municipal or private cremation and ask what documents the slot needs; and, if the animal is insured, notify the insurer within 24 hours with a photograph.
How to perform the last rites of a dog in India?
The services that sell last rites describe them on their pages. VOSD's sanctuary near Bengaluru offers the cremation with pickup and drop and a day or overnight stay for two or three people at Rs 29,999; PawSpace in Bengaluru sells a pandit for last rites from Rs 6,000 and an ash plantation from Rs 7,000; the operator of Delhi's municipal centre listed a prayer service among its paid extras. A municipal slot with the family present is the plainest version.
Where can I cremate my dog in Bangalore?
The civic option is the BBMP animal crematorium at Sumanahalli, reported by Deccan Herald at Rs 800 for a dog and Rs 300 for a cat in June 2025 and closed for months at a time; the BBMP's online crematorium booking has no animal option, so it is booked by phone or in person. Private services print their own prices, PawSpace from Rs 7,999 for electric cremation, and VOSD's sanctuary package is Rs 29,999. Call before you drive.
How to dispose of a dead cat in Bangalore?
Through an incinerator, which is what the Animal Birth Control Rules 2023 require local authorities to install for carcasses, with deep burial only where an incinerator is not feasible. The BBMP crematorium's reported fee for a cat is Rs 300; when it is shut, the private services take cats at the same weight-based rates as small dogs, PawSpace from Rs 7,999 electric. A garden or a vacant plot inside the city is not a lawful option.
Is it okay to cremate a dog?
Yes. Cremation is the route the law and the municipal corporations themselves use: Rule 10(1)(d) of the Animal Birth Control Rules 2023 requires local authorities to install incinerators for carcasses, the BMC runs free animal crematoriums at three sites and the MCD runs one at Dwarka, and two Indian insurers pay a cremation allowance on a mortality claim, Bajaj Rs 3,000 and Generali Central Rs 5,000. A dog cremated alone comes back to you as ashes.
What is involved in pet cremation?
A death certificate from a registered vet, a booking, the documents the facility asks for, the animal weighed where rates run by weight, the cremation in a gas or electric furnace, and the ashes returned if the cremation was individual. Vatika's page sets out the steps as contact, optional transport, handling, cremation and optional ash collection, warns the cremation may wait until the end of the day or the next, and lets you attend only a private cremation.