Dog adoption guide
How to adopt a dog in India: the AWBI protocol, fees, documents and what shelters ask
The Animal Welfare Board of India wrote a seven-page adoption protocol in May 2022 that no ranking page walks through. This guide quotes it clause by clause, then checks what CUPA, Friendicoes, WSD, Bombay SPCA, PFA Mysuru, Kannan Animal Welfare and the CRPF's retired-K9 programme actually ask of an adopter.
Quick answer
How to adopt a dog in India: choose a shelter on the AWBI's recognition list or apply to your municipal body for a street dog, be over 18, submit the house-check form, photo ID with address proof and the binding adoption form, pass a house check, which a video call satisfies, and take the dog to a vet in week one. A mature dog leaves already sterilised. PFA Mysuru, WSD and the CRPF charge no fee. Then register the dog with the municipal corporation, Rs 500 in Delhi.
Where you can adopt a dog in India
You can adopt a dog in India from 4 kinds of place: a shelter run by an SPCA or an animal welfare organisation recognised by the AWBI or a State Animal Welfare Board, a municipal body that gives street dogs in adoption under the Supreme Court's order of 22 August 2025, a foster-based rescue or portal that lists dogs online, and the Central Reserve Police Force, which rehomes its retired K9s at no fee Central Reserve Police Force.
The AWBI's Standard Protocol names the first two routes in its opening clause. Dogs and pups 'can be adopted from shelters of SPCA or of Animal Welfare Organisations (AWO) recognized with the AWBI or State Animal Welfare Board by issuing adoption certificate', and for a dog taken straight off the street, 'adoption papers can be processed through any Municipal Council / Municipal Corporation / Municipality / Panchayats or any acting legal authority / District SPCA along with medical check-up and vaccination'. The Supreme Court added a third, binding route on 22 August 2025: 'the desirous animal lover/s shall be free to move the application to the concerned municipal body for adoption of the street dogs', after which the selected dog 'shall be tagged and given in adoption to the applicant', who must ensure 'that the adopted stray dogs do not return to the streets'.
Online portals are the fourth route and they are facilitators, not shelters. Barket listed 116 pets in Bengaluru, 96 in Delhi and 83 in Mumbai on 18 September 2026, says every adoption on it is free, and states in its footer that it 'bears no responsibility or liability for any matters, issues, or disputes' arising from an adoption. The dog you meet through a portal is fostered or held by a rescuer, so the screening, the sterilisation status and the follow-up are whatever that rescuer runs, and the checklist in the next section is the test to apply. This guide is the procedure; it does not list shelters near you.
How to check that a shelter is recognised
To check that a shelter is recognised, open the AWBI's Recognition List as on 31 March 2026, a 242-page PDF of 3,619 serial entries, and search the organisation's registered name. Five of the shelters on this page are in it with their code numbers: Blue Cross of India, Chennai (TN002/1966, renewed 22 October 2024, valid to 21 October 2029); The Friendicoes-SECA, New Delhi (ND003/1988, renewed 19 July 2023, valid to 18 July 2028); Bombay SPCA, Parel (MH002/1966); Compassion Unlimited Plus Action, which is CUPA's registered name, Bengaluru (KA004/1993); and The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai (MH019/1993). Kannan Animal Welfare and Marpu Foundation do not appear under those names in the same list, a search that found the other five in the same pass, so their adoptions run outside the protocol's 'recognised AWO' wording even if the care is good.
Recognition is a grant-and-standing status under the Board, not a licence to rehome, so an unlisted rescue is doing nothing unlawful. It matters for one document: the protocol's adoption certificate, the paper that records the dog's species and age, is issued by 'the AWO from which the dog has been adopted or being adopted / SPCA'. An unlisted rescue can still give you its own adoption letter and the vaccination card, and the licence office asks only for the anti-rabies certificate, your ID, your address proof and a photograph with the dog.
Retired police dogs: the CRPF route
The CRPF's Dog Breeding and Training School rehomes its retired K9s through a public portal, and its front page on 18 September 2026 showed a 14-year-old Labrador named Baloo in Jammu and Kashmir and two Belgian Malinois in Telangana and Chhattisgarh, with six pages of listings and a search filter by State, breed and sex. The process has 7 steps: browse the profiles, submit the online application, review by the responsible authorities, final approval, a meeting with the K9 to assess compatibility, collection by the adopter at the dog's location 'in as is where is condition' with the medical records handed over, and a post-adoption follow-up in which the adopter 'shall permit CRPF authorities to carry out periodical inspection'. There is no adoption fee, and the handover includes 'the dog's KCI Registration certificate, medical records, vaccination details, and other relevant documents'.
The ten conditions are stricter than any shelter's: the adopter pays all veterinary costs 'including its timely vaccinations', may not use the dog 'for breeding or any other unauthorized activity like selling', must report a death in writing, must send 'short videos and live VC' on its welfare, must give 'all therapeutic care as required for a geriatric dog', and the CRPF 'reserves the right to take back K9 at any time'. A retired working Labrador at 10 to 14 is a senior with a service history, and the geriatric-care clause is the one to read twice.
The AWBI Standard Protocol for adoption, clause by clause
The AWBI Standard Protocol for adoption of community animals is a seven-page circular, F. No. 3-4/2021-22/PCA of 17 May 2022, signed by the Board's Chairman and addressed to every Chief Secretary, Director General of Police, State Animal Welfare Board, District Magistrate and Municipal Commissioner, and it sets 3 eligibility conditions, 3 documents, a 5-step procedure and 8 house rules.
The covering letter quotes the Supreme Court in AWBI v. Nagaraja on the five freedoms being 'read into section 3 and 11 of Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960', records that the Board 'has been receiving several queries regarding procedure for adopting the community dogs', and states that 'the Indigenous dog breeds of India are naturally healthy and well-adjusted to the local climate' and 'make excellent pets'. The Press Information Bureau listed the circular on 7 December 2022 among 13 AWBI advisories on pet and street dogs. It is an advisory, worded 'may be followed', not a rule notified under section 38 of the Act, so a shelter can add conditions and a municipal office can ask for more than it lists.
| Clause | What the protocol says | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| I, where | Shelters of an SPCA or an AWO recognised with the AWBI or a State Board, which issue an adoption certificate; a street dog's papers go through the municipal body, panchayat, legal authority or District SPCA with a medical check-up and vaccination | Two routes, both ending in paper: the shelter's certificate or the municipal record |
| II.1 to II.3, who | Older than 18; of sound mind; 'capable of providing adequate care & maintenance, including but not limited to adequate nutrition, veterinary care and housing' | Age and capacity are the only eligibility tests; income is not named |
| III, documents | House-check form (Annexure I); valid Government photo ID and address proof; completed adoption form (Annexure II), with a passport photograph, signed on every page, copies self-attested | Three documents, all in the PDF, so a shelter's form should look like Annexure II |
| IV.1, house check | The AWO or SPCA 'may assess and evaluate eligibility through a pre-and/or post-adoption house check', and 'the house check may be even conducted through a video call' | A video call satisfies the protocol; a visit is the shelter's choice |
| IV.2, veterinary care | The adopter 'shall take it for a veterinary check-up, and ensure vaccinations, parasite control, deworming or any other necessary medical treatment' | The first vet visit is the adopter's duty, not the shelter's |
| IV.3, sterilisation | 'If the animal has attained maturity, it must be spayed/neutered prior to adoption' | An adult leaves already sterilised; a puppy does not, and the shelter usually binds you to do it later |
| IV.4, certificate | On being satisfied with the check, the vet visit and inoculation, the AWO or SPCA 'may issue an adoption certificate mentioning species and age of the dog/pup' plus care guidance | Ask for the certificate; it is the dog's origin document |
| IV.5, records | 'The AWO/SPCA must maintain a record of all animals adopted through it for last 2 years' | A shelter that cannot find your file two years on is outside the protocol |
| V, pet friendly house | Netted balconies and windows in multi-floor homes; sharp objects out of reach; warning on toxic plants, chemicals, incense sticks and foods; taped electrical fittings; bedding; water at all times; species-appropriate meals; walked 'at least twice a day' | The eight items a home check is looking for |
The three documents are the part most adopters have not seen in advance, so here is what each one is.
- The house-check form, Annexure I. A one-paragraph waiver in which you consent to a representative of the named organisation visiting your address 'at a mutually convenient date & time' to assess 'the suitability of the house environment', and indemnify that representative 'from any adverse legal action or prosecution for entering my property'.
- Government photo ID and address proof. Copies, self-attested, with a passport-size photograph; the protocol does not name Aadhaar or any one document, so a passport, voter card or driving licence with a current address serves.
- The adoption form, Annexure II. Your details, your existing pets, and the dog's species, name, age and 'colour, identification marks etc.', followed by four undertakings and your signature beside the organisation's representative's.
Annexure II opens with the line 'This document is binding and may be used in legal proceedings' and closes with four sworn undertakings: to take all reasonable measures for the pet's well-being, to provide its dietary and veterinary needs, to have read and understood the contract, and to offer the dog 'a loving home for the entire duration of his/her lifespan'. It also says that if any statement on the form is found untrue, 'the AWO/ SPCA may re-evaluate the adoption certificate'. It is a lifetime commitment on paper: sign it only for a dog you will keep for 12 to 16 years.
What shelters actually ask: application, home check, fee, handover, follow-up
Shelters ask for more than the protocol's minimum, and the 7 adoption pages opened on 18 September 2026 show the spread: 6 of 7 run a house check, an interview or in-person visits before handover, 5 of 7 state the sterilisation or vaccination position at handover, 4 of 7 describe a follow-up, and not one prints a rupee adoption fee Friendicoes SECA, New Delhi The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai The Bombay Society for the Prevention… People For Animals Mysuru Kannan Animal Welfare, Delhi NCR Central Reserve Police Force.
| Shelter or programme | Application | Home check or screening | Adoption fee | Status at handover | Follow-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUPA Second Chance Adoption Centre, Bengaluru CUPA Second Chance Adoption Centre | Google form with your preferences (age, sex, breed) and the reason; the team matches you and warns of 'a long wait'; visits 11 am to 3 pm after an email a day ahead | 'Multiple in-person visits and mandatory pre-adoption checks' | None stated | Medical documents and history record from the centre; official adoption form and other certificates | Not stated; 4,861 dogs adopted out to date |
| Friendicoes SECA, New Delhi | Phone or Facebook; the team observes each dog first and uses a behaviourist where needed | House visit 'for address verification as well as an interactive session with the whole family' | None stated | Spay or neuter is mandatory, done free by Friendicoes, after 6 months for puppies | Team stays in touch; post-adoption house visits; about 100 to 150 rehomed a year |
| The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai | Contact the centre; about 100 dogs waiting | 'Every adopter is screened, interviewed'; temperament tests match dog to home | None; 'WSD offers all its services for FREE' | 'All dogs over 3 months are vaccinated before going' | Not stated |
| Bombay SPCA, Parel, Mumbai | Get in touch by phone or email | Homes with 'stable caretakers and owners with adequate income' | None stated | Listed dogs are 'Neutered, Vaccinated and De-wormed' | Not stated |
| People For Animals Mysuru People For Animals Mysuru, home page | Plan 'at least one hour'; adopter 18 or older with photo ID and current address proof; landlord approval or ownership proof may be required | All household members meet the dog; dog-to-dog introduction on request | 'There is no charge for adopting a pet' | 'De-wormed, vaccinated and tested before being adopted' | Takes the pet back by appointment; asks for at least a week together before deciding to return |
| Kannan Animal Welfare, Sohna, Delhi NCR | Online application form | A rehoming volunteer calls within two weeks and books a house check; management decides on the report | Charged at the meet and greet; the amount is not printed | Documents and fee submitted at the Sohna sanctuary | 14-day adjustment period before the adoption is made official; adopters' group afterwards |
| CRPF retired K9s, all States Central Reserve Police Force Central Reserve Police Force | Online K9 Adoption Application Form | Review by the authorities, final approval, then a meeting with the dog | 'No, there is no adoption fee'; you travel to collect | KCI certificate, medical records and vaccination details; agreement signed in person and legally binding | 'Periodical follow-up visits'; videos and video calls; the CRPF can take the dog back |
Blue Cross of India, Chennai, is missing from the table for one reason: its website served a 'Service Temporarily Suspended' hosting placeholder at the root and HTTP 404 on its Adopt-Foster page on 18 September 2026, on two attempts, so no procedure could be read from its own page. It remains on the AWBI's recognition list as TN002/1966, valid to 21 October 2029.
The adoption fee question
No shelter page opened prints an adoption fee, and 3 of 7 say outright that there is none: PFA Mysuru ('There is no charge for adopting a pet'), WSD ('all its services for FREE') and the CRPF ('No, there is no adoption fee') Central Reserve Police Force. Barket says every adoption through it is 100 percent free. Kannan is the one that charges, at the meet and greet, and its page does not state the amount, so ask before you drive to Sohna. The only published band, Rs 0 to Rs 5,000 for a breed-specific rescue that 'covers vaccination and neutering', comes from a price-aggregator page and not from any shelter, so it is reported here as a claim, not a fee.
What a shelter will ask you to bring is more consistent than the fee.
- Photo ID and address proof, self-attested copies, plus a passport photograph, as Annexure II of the protocol requires and PFA Mysuru repeats.
- A landlord's written approval or proof of ownership, which PFA Mysuru 'may require' and which a house check will ask about in any rented flat.
- The whole household, because Friendicoes runs its house visit as 'an interactive session with the whole family' and PFA encourages 'all household members to meet the new dog'.
- Time and a commitment, at least an hour at PFA, a two-week wait for Kannan's first call, and 'a long lengthy process with a long wait' at CUPA, whose page asks you 'to not follow-up repeatedly'.
Is it legal to own a dog in India?
Yes, it is legal to own a dog in India, and 3 instruments set what an owner must do: section 3 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 makes 'every person having the care or charge of any animal' responsible for its well-being, rule 8(1) of the Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 makes the owner of a pet dog responsible for its deworming, immunisation and sterilisation, and the municipal corporation licenses the dog, at Rs 500 a year in Delhi Ministry of Fisheries Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
The Act's duty is short and general: to 'take all reasonable measures to ensure the well-being of such animal and to prevent the infliction upon such animal of unnecessary pain or suffering'. Section 11 turns 5 owner failures into offences that matter after an adoption: keeping a dog 'chained or tethered upon an unreasonably short or unreasonably heavy chain' (11(1)(f)), neglecting 'to exercise or cause to be exercised reasonably any dog habitually chained up' (11(1)(g)), failing 'to provide such animal with sufficient food, drink or shelter' (11(1)(h)), abandoning an animal 'in circumstances which render it likely that it will suffer pain by reason of starvation or thirst' (11(1)(i)), and letting a diseased animal loose in a street (11(1)(j)). Under 11(2) an owner 'shall be deemed to have committed an offence if he has failed to exercise reasonable care and supervision'.
The penalty is the honest part of the answer. A first offence under section 11 carries a fine 'which shall not be less than ten rupees but which may extend to fifty rupees', and a second within three years Rs 25 to Rs 100 'or with imprisonment for a term which may extend to three months, or with both', figures unchanged since 1960. So the ranking article's line that 'no single national law mandates adoption procedures' is half right: no statute sets the adoption steps, but a statute does set the owner's duties, and abandoning the dog you adopted is an offence with a nominal fine The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act.
The ABC Rules 2023 are where an adopted street dog changes legal category. Rule 7 classifies 'pet animals' as 'dogs owned and kept indoor by individuals' and 'street dogs or community owned Indian dogs or abandoned pedigreed dogs which are homeless, living on the street or within a gated campus'; rule 2(1)(j) defines community animals as those 'for which no ownership has been claimed by any individual or an Organisation'; and rule 2(1)(d) defines an animal shelter as a 'place where stray or street or abandoned animals are kept for adoption or rehabilitation'. The moment you sign the adoption form you claim ownership, and rule 8 moves the duty of 'deworming, immunisation and sterilisation' from the local authority under 8(2) to you under 8(1). The stray dogs in India guide covers the other side of that line.
The municipal licence after adoption
The licence is a city rule, not a national one. Delhi's is section 399 of the DMC Act 1957, under which 'each Dog owner need to register Pet Dog with the MCD', online only, with a separate application per dog, an applicant aged 18 or over, and a certificate valid 'of maximum one Year Duration Subjected to date of vaccination of Dog'. The fee is Rs 500 for a new registration and Rs 500 for renewal, with a late fee of Rs 100 a month after a one-month grace period from the expiry of the anti-rabies certificate, and surrender is free. The document list for a new licence has 4 items: an anti-rabies vaccination certificate 'Issued By Registered Veterinary Practitioner / Hospital', the applicant's identity proof, residence proof, and a 'Photograph of applicant along with pet dog', all mandatory. The dog licence fees and portals city by city guide and the GCC pet license in Chennai guide carry the other cities' figures.
An adopted Indie has no KCI papers and does not need them
No municipal document list opened asks for a pedigree certificate: the MCD's four items are the anti-rabies certificate, ID, address proof and the photograph, and the SOP's surrender rules speak of a dog that 'expires', is 'sold to another owner' or whose owner leaves Delhi, never of a breed paper. KCI registration records a declared breed, sire and dam in a pedigree register, which an Indian pariah dog from a shelter does not have and cannot get; the KCI registration explained guide sets out what those papers prove and what they do not. The one adoption route on this page that hands over a KCI certificate is the CRPF, because its K9s are bred Labradors and Belgian Malinois, and even there the certificate travels with the medical records rather than being a condition of the licence.
How much does it cost to adopt a dog in India?
Adopting a dog in India costs Rs 0 at the shelter in the 3 of 7 programmes that state a figure, the other 4 print no fee, and the money starts after handover: Rs 500 for the Delhi licence, Rs 2,500 for CUPA's sterilisation bundle if the dog is not already done, and the first-year vaccination, deworming and tick-control calendar CUPA Spay and Neuter Centre, Sarjapur.
Both rupee figures on this page pass the exchange-rate test that catches converted dollar lists. Rs 2,500 divided by 84.38 is 29.63 and by 74 is 33.78; Rs 500 divided by 84.38 is 5.93 and by 74 is 6.76. Neither lands on a whole dollar, so both are rupee-native figures printed by the body that charges them, CUPA and the Municipal Corporation of Delhi Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
| Item | Figure | Who charges it and on what terms |
|---|---|---|
| Adoption fee | Rs 0 | PFA Mysuru: 'There is no charge'; WSD: all services free; CRPF: 'No, there is no adoption fee' but you travel to collect The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai Central Reserve Police Force |
| Adoption fee, where charged | Not printed | Kannan Animal Welfare collects a fee at the meet and greet; ask the amount when the volunteer calls |
| Sterilisation | Rs 2,500 per dog | CUPA Spay and Neuter Centre, Sarjapur, for community dogs outside BBMP limits: catching, pick-up, surgery, four days of post-operative care, ARV and DHPPiL vaccination and drop-off; dog must be 6 months and 8 kg |
| Sterilisation of an adopted pet | Free | Friendicoes sterilises the pets it rehomes at no charge, mandatory, after 6 months for puppies |
| Municipal licence, Delhi | Rs 500 new, Rs 500 renewal | MCD, online only; Rs 100 a month late fee after a one-month grace period; surrender free |
| Vaccination, deworming, ticks | By clinic | No shelter page opened prints a clinic rate; the dog vaccination schedule in India guide carries the timing and the published rates |
Which dog comes in Rs 5,000?
An Indian pariah dog from a shelter comes in Rs 0, sterilised and vaccinated if adult, and it is the only dog on this page that a recognised organisation hands over with papers for nothing The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai. Among priced breeds, the lowest published pet-quality band opened is the Mudhol Hound at Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000, on a price-aggregator page that also prints Rs 2,000 city floors for Kolkata, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Lucknow. The Labrador Retriever starts at Rs 8,000 on a retailer's 2026 guide and runs to Rs 70,000. The Rajapalayam page carries its own band; its price source failed DNS resolution on 18 September 2026 through two routes, so no figure is repeated here. A pedigree puppy offered at Rs 2,000 to Rs 5,000 sits below every published band opened, which makes it a warning sign rather than a bargain. The pet insurance in India guide covers the optional cost after these.
Friendicoes writes that 'most of the abandoned pets at the shelter are pure bred or pedigreed but have ended up at the shelter because they've become too big, too energetic, or because they are too expensive to maintain', and that some arrive 'because they have (easily curable) medical issues' the family would not pay for. CUPA's Second Chance centre exists for 'pets who have been abandoned or abused by their owners or discarded by breeders'. The purchase price is the smallest number in a dog's life; the shelters are where the arithmetic ends up.
Sterilisation and vaccination: what the dog should have at handover
An adult dog should leave a shelter already sterilised and any dog over 3 months already vaccinated, because clause IV.3 of the AWBI protocol says a mature animal 'must be spayed/neutered prior to adoption' and the shelters opened apply it: Friendicoes makes spay or neuter mandatory and does it free, WSD vaccinates every dog over 3 months before it goes, Bombay SPCA lists its dogs as neutered, vaccinated and dewormed, and PFA Mysuru deworms and vaccinates before adoption The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai The Bombay Society for the Prevention… People For Animals Mysuru, home page.
A puppy is the exception, and the timing is set by the surgery, not the shelter. Friendicoes sterilises the pups it rehomes 'post 6 months of age', CUPA's centre takes dogs only at 6 months and 8 kg, and rule 11(9) of the ABC Rules bars a municipal programme from capturing a street dog under six months for sterilisation at all Ministry of Fisheries. Once the pup is yours, rule 8(1) puts the sterilisation on you, and the dog sterilisation in India guide covers when and where. A dog that came through a municipal ABC centre carries the proof on its body: rule 11(16) requires 'a V shaped notch' on the right ear during the surgery so the dog can be identified 'as sterilised and immunized'.
Clause IV.2 makes the first veterinary visit the adopter's duty: you 'shall take it for a veterinary check-up, and ensure vaccinations, parasite control, deworming or any other necessary medical treatment'. Book it in the first week, take every paper the shelter gave you, and let the vet who examines this dog decide its dates; a shelter's card and this guide never override that examination. The dog vaccination schedule in India guide explains why a shelter's 'vaccinated' can mean one dose of a course that needs three, and the dog deworming schedule and dog ticks in India guides carry the calendars.
Five papers to ask for at handover, in the order the licence office will ask for them, are listed below.
- The anti-rabies vaccination certificate, with the vaccine name and date on a registered vet's letterhead, because the MCD licence is valid only to the date of that vaccination and the certificate is the one mandatory document at every stage.
- The full vaccination card, since WSD's 'over 3 months are vaccinated' and BSPCA's 'Vaccinated' describe a status, not a course; your vet reads the dates and finishes what is missing The Bombay Society for the Prevention….
- The sterilisation record, or the right-ear notch on a municipal ABC dog, and for a puppy the shelter's written condition on when you must do it.
- The deworming date and product, which PFA Mysuru and BSPCA both state they do before adoption and which sets the next dose.
- The adoption certificate and the medical history, the certificate 'mentioning species and age of the dog/pup' under clause IV.4 and the 'medical documents and history record' CUPA hands over at its centre CUPA (Compassion Unlimited Plus Action).
The first weeks after adoption: the 3-3-3 rule, the home and the paperwork
The first weeks after adoption run on two clocks: a settling-in clock that shelters summarise as the 3-3-3 rule, 3 days to decompress, 3 weeks to learn the routine and 3 months to start to feel at home, and a paperwork clock that starts on the date of the anti-rabies vaccination, because the municipal licence is valid only to that date.
Pasadena Humane, a shelter in California, states the 3-3-3 rule with the signs at each stage. In the first 3 days the dog 'may not eat or drink', may have accidents indoors, whine, refuse walks or hide, with stress showing as dilated pupils, lip licking, ears back and a tucked tail; by 3 weeks it is 'starting to respond to routine cues'; by 3 months it 'should understand routine', greet with a 'loose, wiggly body', and if an adult is still soiling indoors the advice is 'speak to a vet' first and a trainer second. No Indian shelter page opened states the rule, but two build the same idea into their procedure with local numbers: Kannan Animal Welfare runs 'a 14-day adjustment period before making the adoption official', and PFA Mysuru asks for 'at least a week together to settle in prior to deciding to return the pet'. The first few days are the hard ones, and both shelters treat a return inside that window as a matching failure, not the adopter's.
Preparing your home: the protocol's eight rules
Clause V of the AWBI protocol is the checklist a house check works from, and its 8 items are listed below.
- Net the balconies and windows in 'apartments or houses with multiple floors', 'to avoid the risk of the pet escaping or falling'.
- Cover or remove sharp and dangerous objects from the dog's reach.
- Ask about toxic plants, chemicals, incense sticks and foods; the protocol puts the duty to warn on the shelter, 'with guidance of a veterinarian'.
- Tape accessible electrical fittings.
- Provide comfortable bedding 'in a suitable spot in the house'.
- Keep clean drinking water available 'at all times'.
- Feed regular, species-appropriate meals.
- Walk the dog at least twice a day, which in an Indian summer means before sunrise and after dark; the heat safety for dogs in India guide has the wet-bulb thresholds.
Kannan's shorter list is the shopping version of the same clause: a bed, food and water bowls, a collar and leash 'for walks and identification', toys and a crate. A puppy adds a vaccination course and house training on top, which the bringing a puppy home in India guide covers week by week.
The paperwork in the first month
The paperwork follows a fixed order because each document depends on the one before it.
- Week one: the veterinary check-up required by clause IV.2, with vaccination, parasite control and deworming as the vet finds them due, and the anti-rabies certificate on the clinic's letterhead if the dog does not already have a current one Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
- As soon as the anti-rabies certificate is in hand: register the dog with the municipal corporation, in Delhi online at the MCD portal with an Aadhaar-linked mobile number, Rs 500, the certificate, ID, address proof and a photograph of you with the dog; the certificate is valid one year from the vaccination date, and renewal after a month's grace costs Rs 100 a month extra Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
- File the adoption certificate and the signed form with the vaccination card; the shelter keeps its copy for two years under clause IV.5, and the certificate is the dog's origin document if anyone ever asks where it came from.
- Book the sterilisation if the dog was a puppy at handover, at 6 months under Friendicoes' rule and CUPA's eligibility, and keep the shelter's written condition until it is done CUPA Spay and Neuter Centre, Sarjapur.
- Start tick prevention on day one, on the label interval, because the brown dog tick breeds indoors all year and a shelter dog has usually shared kennels; the dog ticks in India guide has the routine.
Adopting a dog straight off the street
Adopting a dog straight off the street is lawful and has 2 paper routes: the AWBI protocol's, where 'adoption papers can be processed through any Municipal Council / Municipal Corporation / Municipality / Panchayats or any acting legal authority / District SPCA along with medical check-up and vaccination', and the Supreme Court's, where you apply to the municipal body, the dog is 'tagged and given in adoption', and you answer for it never returning to the street Supreme Court of India.
The Court's direction sits in paragraph 33 of the order of 22 August 2025, the same paragraph that restored release after sterilisation, ordered feeding spaces in every municipal ward with no feeding on the streets, and required a helpline in every municipality; direction (h) is the adoption clause, and it puts the responsibility on 'the applicant(s) to ensure that the adopted stray dogs do not return to the streets'. The order runs to every State, because paragraphs 34 and 35 expanded the case 'beyond the confines of New Delhi and the NCR region' and impleaded all States and Union Territories. What the municipal body issues is a record that this dog is now owned, and with it the ABC Rules' duty of deworming, immunisation and sterilisation moves from the local authority to you under rule 8(1).
A street dog arrives with no card, so the protocol's 'medical check-up and vaccination' comes first and the vet builds the course from scratch. Two features tell you what has already been done. A V-shaped notch on the right ear means the dog went through a municipal ABC centre and was sterilised and immunised there under rule 11(16); no notch on an adult means both are yours to arrange. A puppy under six months, or a mother with a litter under two months, is outside the capture rules under 11(9), so a street pup will not have been done and the 6-month shelter timetable applies. The covering letter's own description of these dogs is worth keeping, 'naturally healthy and well-adjusted to the local climate': the Indian pariah dog that the stray dogs in India guide counts in the millions.
The order's direction (d) confines feeding to designated spaces in each ward and says 'under no condition shall the feeding of stray dogs on the streets be permitted', with a helpline under direction (e) for reporting violations. Direction (h) is the exit from that dispute for one dog: 'the desirous animal lover' applies to the municipal body, the dog is tagged and given in adoption, and from then on it is a pet under rule 7 of the ABC Rules, fed indoors, on your licence Ministry of Fisheries. The feeding community dogs in India guide covers the dogs you do not take home.
Adopt or buy: what changes in the papers, the price and the history
Adopting rather than buying changes 3 things: the price, which is Rs 0 at the shelters that state one against published breed bands that start at Rs 3,000 and run past Rs 70,000; the papers, an adoption certificate instead of a KCI pedigree; and the history, which a shelter has watched for weeks and a seller has not whatsthecost.in, Mudhol Hound Price… Supertails, Labrador Retriever Animal Welfare Board of India.
| What you get | Adoption, from the shelter pages opened | Purchase |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Rs 0 at PFA Mysuru, WSD and the CRPF; unprinted at Kannan The Welfare of Stray Dogs, Mumbai Central Reserve Police Force Kannan Animal Welfare, Delhi NCR | Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000 for a pet-quality Mudhol Hound on an aggregator page; Rs 8,000 to Rs 70,000 for a Labrador on a retailer's guide |
| Origin paper | Adoption certificate with species and age under clause IV.4; a binding adoption form | KCI pedigree certificate where the litter was registered; see the KCI registration guide for what it proves |
| Sterilisation | Done before handover for a mature dog under clause IV.3; free at Friendicoes Friendicoes SECA, New Delhi | Not done; a puppy is sold entire |
| Vaccination | Over 3 months vaccinated at WSD; 'Vaccinated and De-wormed' at BSPCA; vaccinated and tested at PFA The Bombay Society for the Prevention… People For Animals Mysuru, home page | First doses at most; the course is yours |
| Temperament | Observed for weeks, temperament-tested at WSD, matched at CUPA; 'you know the temperament of the pet you are taking on' for an adult at Friendicoes CUPA (Compassion Unlimited Plus Action) Friendicoes SECA, New Delhi | Eight-week puppy, unknown |
| Follow-up | House visits at Friendicoes, 14 days at Kannan, inspections at the CRPF, take-back at PFA Kannan Animal Welfare, Delhi NCR Central Reserve Police Force People For Animals Mysuru | None |
| Licence | Same anti-rabies certificate, same Rs 500 in Delhi | Same |
Pedigree dogs are in the shelters too, which is the fact the 'adopt an Indie' framing leaves out. Friendicoes says 'most of the abandoned pets at the shelter are pure bred or pedigreed'; CUPA's Second Chance centre was built for pets 'abandoned or abused by their owners or discarded by breeders'; and Barket's front page on 18 September 2026 listed a Golden Retriever, a German Shepherd, two Indian Spitz and a Pit Bull beside its Indies Barket Animal Adoption Portal. The Beagle page on this site documents a further source, the laboratory Beagles that Indian rules require to be released for rehoming, and the CRPF's Labradors and Malinois are a fourth.
The honest trade is time. CUPA warns that its dogs 'come with a background that is almost always traumatic'; PFA Mysuru 'cannot make guarantees about dogs' health or temperament'; Friendicoes answers that an adult dog 'helps avoid the problems that come along with puppies, too much energy, teething and training' Friendicoes SECA, New Delhi. If you buy instead, the KCI registration explained guide sets out the papers a seller should show; an adopted dog needs none of them, and the licence office asks for none.
Adopting a dog in India: the questions people ask
Can we adopt a dog for free?
Yes, you can adopt a dog for free at most Indian shelters: PFA Mysuru says 'There is no charge for adopting a pet', WSD in Mumbai offers all its services free, the CRPF charges no fee for a retired K9, and Barket lists every adoption as free. Kannan Animal Welfare charges an unprinted fee at the meet and greet. The costs start after handover, with the Rs 500 Delhi licence and the first vet visit.
What is the 3-3-3 rule with dogs?
The 3-3-3 rule with dogs is a shelter guideline for a newly adopted dog: 3 days to decompress, when it may not eat, may hide and shows stress signs like a tucked tail; 3 weeks to learn the routine, when house soiling should reduce; and 3 months to start to feel at home. Pasadena Humane, which publishes it, adds that an adult still soiling at 3 months should see a vet before a trainer.
Which dog comes in RS 5000?
For Rs 5,000 or less you get an Indian pariah dog from a recognised shelter at Rs 0, sterilised if adult, vaccinated if over 3 months, with an adoption certificate; or a retired CRPF Labrador or Malinois at Rs 0 with its KCI certificate and medical records, paying only your travel. Among priced breeds, only the Mudhol Hound's published pet-quality band, Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000, starts under Rs 5,000.
What is the 3-3-3 rule for dogs?
The 3-3-3 rule for dogs, 3 days, 3 weeks and 3 months to decompress, learn the routine and feel at home, is stated by shelters abroad rather than by any Indian shelter page opened, but two Indian shelters build the same timeline into their procedure: Kannan Animal Welfare runs a 14-day adjustment period before an adoption is made official, and PFA Mysuru asks for at least a week together before a return.
Which dog is under RS 5000?
Under Rs 5,000, the only breed with a published pet-quality band on the pages opened is the Mudhol Hound, Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000 on a price-aggregator page that also prints Rs 2,000 floors for Kolkata, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Lucknow. The Labrador's lowest published band starts at Rs 8,000. A pedigree puppy offered below every band is a warning sign, not a bargain.
Which dog breed under 2000 rupees?
No breed has a published pet-quality band under Rs 2,000 on any page opened for this guide: the lowest floor printed is Rs 2,000 for a Mudhol Hound in five smaller cities, on an aggregator page, and the Labrador starts at Rs 8,000. The dog under Rs 2,000 is the adopted one, at Rs 0 from PFA Mysuru, WSD, the CRPF or a portal like Barket.
How much does it cost to adopt in India?
Adopting costs Rs 0 at the shelter in the three programmes that state a figure, PFA Mysuru, WSD and the CRPF, and an unprinted fee at Kannan Animal Welfare. After handover the fixed costs are the municipal licence, Rs 500 a year in Delhi with a Rs 100 a month late fee, and sterilisation if the dog was a puppy, which CUPA bundles at Rs 2,500 with vaccination and four days of post-operative care.
Is it legal to own a dog in India?
Yes, owning a dog in India is legal, and the law sets duties: section 3 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1960 requires you to ensure the animal's well-being, section 11 makes abandoning it or failing to feed and shelter it an offence with a first fine of Rs 10 to Rs 50, rule 8(1) of the ABC Rules 2023 puts deworming, immunisation and sterilisation on the owner, and the municipal corporation licenses the dog.
Which dog will come in 5000 rupees?
The dog that comes in 5,000 rupees with papers is an adopted one: an Indian pariah dog from a recognised shelter costs Rs 0 and leaves with an adoption certificate and, if adult, sterilised and vaccinated; the Delhi licence after it costs Rs 500. Buying, the only published band that starts under Rs 5,000 is the Mudhol Hound's at Rs 3,000; the Labrador's starts at Rs 8,000.