Dog food brand
Pedigree dog food in India
Pedigree is India's most visible dog food brand and the hardest to check. This page records who owns it, where the bag in your hand was made, what it costs across seven sellers, and what each recall register actually returned on a dated search.
Quick answer
Pedigree dog food is owned by Mars, Incorporated, which a 2014 SEC-filed press release names as the brand's parent. In India it is made and marketed by MARS International India Pvt. Ltd. at a plant in Telangana. The 20 kg Chicken and Vegetables pack declares India as its country of origin, the 10 kg pack declares none, and two sellers print a label reading Hungary, Thailand and India for the same line. Seventeen seller prices run from Rs 155.75 to Rs 343.80 per kilogram.
At a glance
The table below is what can be established about this brand from primary records, and what cannot. Every row reading "Not established" is written up in full at the foot of the page, with what was looked for and where.
| Record | What the primary sources show |
|---|---|
| Brand | Pedigree |
| Also sold as | PEDIGREE, Pedigree Pro, PEDIGREE PROCARE |
| Species | Dog |
| Corporate owner | Mars, Incorporated |
| Indian entity | MARS International India Pvt. Ltd. |
| FSSAI licence | Not established, see below |
| Retailer's own brand | No |
Where it is made
Origin is recorded per product, not per brand, because it varies per product. The evidence column says how strong each row is: a pack in hand outranks a filing, and a marketplace listing is the weakest thing here that is still evidence.
| Product or line | Made in | Evidence | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg (ASIN B078XXNPM3) | India | Retailer listing (weak) | The volume pack, EAN 8906002486434, and the one five sellers list. Declares country of origin India in BOTH the English-locale pull of 18 September 2026 and the Hindi-locale pull of 8 October 2026, alongside a manufacturer field naming the Siddipet plant in full. The difference from the 10 kg is per ASIN, not per locale. |
| Pedigree Adult Dry, Healthy Belly, chicken and egg, 1.2 kg (ASIN B0H5KCFXNS) | India | Retailer listing (weak) | Read off the listing's statutory Manufacturer Contact Information and country-of-origin attributes, which reproduce the pack's legally required declarations rather than a seller's marketing copy. The manufacturer field names the Siddipet plant in full. This is the SKU that matters most of the Indian-origin ones because it contains meat: the first Indian-origin packs found were both vegetarian, which could have been the whole story. It also carries a Delhi importer field while declaring India as its origin. |
| Pedigree Adult Dry, Vegetarian, 3 kg (ASIN B01GCQ9MF4) | India | Retailer listing (weak) | Statutory attribute block names Mars International India Pvt Ltd as manufacturer and India as country of origin. |
| Pedigree Ranchos Super Bones treat, 70 g (ASIN B09MWFVC2P) | Thailand | Retailer listing (weak) | The one SKU in this set with a non-Indian origin, and it rests on two signals rather than an address alone: an explicit country of origin of Thailand AND a named Thai manufacturing address at 488/8 Moo 2, Soi Klonglumbangpee, Bangplee-Tamru Road, Samutprakarn 10280, with Mars International India named as importer and distributor. |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg (ASIN B00LHS8JZ2) | Not stated on the listing in either language render; manufacturer and packer fields both name the Telangana plant, under two different village names | Retailer listing (weak) | The absence is the finding. No country-of-origin attribute in the English pull or the Hindi pull of 8 October 2026, which makes it an absence on the listing rather than an artefact of how it was read. A named Indian manufacturer is not the same declaration as a stated country of origin, so this row says what the page says and no more. |
| Pedigree 100% Vegetarian Dry, 1.2 kg (ASIN B09K5X81HH) | Not stated on the listing; manufacturer given as the Siddipet plant | Retailer listing (weak) | The country-of-origin attribute is absent. The manufacturer field names Mars International India at Survey No. 2099-2103, Avusulonipally, Siddipet. This listing also carries an importer field naming the Telangana plant on a product with no stated origin, which is the inverse of the Healthy Belly case. |
| Pedigree Puppy Dry, Chicken & Milk, 400 g (ASIN B00LHS84HA) | Not stated on the listing; manufacturer given as the same plant under an older address | Retailer listing (weak) | This pack prints Village Wargal, Siddepet Highway, District Medak 502279 where the 3 kg and 1.2 kg packs and the brand site print Village Avusulonipally, District Siddipet 502 279. Same survey numbers, same PIN, same highway. Treat it as one site described two ways. |
What it costs in India
Each row is one seller's listed price for one pack size on one date, converted to a price per kilogram so the pack sizes compare. Indian marketplace pricing moves, so a single listing is not a price and none of these is quoted on its own.
| Product | Pack | Price | Per kg | Seller | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3115.0 | Rs 156 | Amazon.in | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3315.0 | Rs 166 | Petsworld | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3315.0 | Rs 166 | ShakeHands | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3319.0 | Rs 166 | Supertails | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3432.0 | Rs 172 | Zigly | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3627.0 | Rs 181 | Heads Up For Tails | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg | 20 kg | Rs 3777.0 | Rs 189 | Sukadev Animal Care | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 1828.0 | Rs 183 | ShakeHands | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 2031.0 | Rs 203 | Petsworld | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 2103.0 | Rs 210 | Zigly | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 2151.0 | Rs 215 | Supertails | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 2151.0 | Rs 215 | Sukadev Animal Care | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 2223.0 | Rs 222 | Heads Up For Tails | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 3247.0 | Rs 325 | Petsworld | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 3251.0 | Rs 325 | Supertails | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 3362.0 | Rs 336 | Zigly | 2026-10-08 |
| Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg | 10 kg | Rs 3438.0 | Rs 344 | Heads Up For Tails | 2026-10-08 |
- Amazon.in, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg. Cheapest per kg found anywhere. Sold by the marketplace seller ETrade Online rather than by Amazon itself, which is part of the observation. Read with the delivery location Mumbai 400001.
- Petsworld, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg. Cheaper per kg than Supertails but out of stock, so not a price a buyer can pay today.
- ShakeHands, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg. Same figure as Petsworld's 20 kg to the rupee, and out of stock at both.
- Supertails, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg. Cheapest in stock among the Shopify sellers. Shopify publishes its own unit price here and it agrees with the arithmetic.
- Sukadev Animal Care, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 20 kg. Dearest 20 kg found.
- ShakeHands, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Cheapest 10 kg found anywhere. This seller also states the pack MRP as Rs 2,150 where five others state Rs 2,390.
- Petsworld, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Unchanged from 27 August 2026.
- Zigly, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Unchanged from 27 August 2026.
- Supertails, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Up Rs 48, or 2.3 percent, from Rs 2,103 on 27 August 2026. The only one of four August sellers to move.
- Sukadev Animal Care, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Lands at exactly the same figure as Supertails. Publishes no SKU code or barcode on any variant.
- Heads Up For Tails, Pedigree Adult Dry Dog Food, Chicken & Vegetables, 10 kg. Unchanged from 27 August 2026.
- Petsworld, Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg. Unchanged from 27 August 2026.
- Supertails, Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg. Down Rs 187, or 5.4 percent, from Rs 3,438 on 27 August 2026, which is what broke the identical-pricing pattern.
- Zigly, Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg. Same price as 27 August 2026, but sold out then and in stock now. A price that did not move and availability that did are two different observations.
- Heads Up For Tails, Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed, 10 kg. The only seller still at the figure three sellers shared on 27 August 2026.
Recall checks
Each register below was searched for this brand, and then searched again for something comparable to prove it answers at all. A register that returns nothing for both has cleared nothing. India maintains no pet food recall register, so no row here can stand in for one.
| Register | Hits for this brand | Control | What a nil result is worth here | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US FDA Animal & Veterinary recalls | 2 | 61 for the same listing unfiltered, plus the same query form for acana, orijen, whiskas, sheba and Champion Petfoods | Meaningful but window-bounded to about three years | 2026-08-27 |
| openFDA enforcement API | 0 | 2 for product_description:"dog food" on the same endpoint | Nothing: the API does not index animal food | 2026-08-27 |
This register covers the United States, not India, and FDA's own parent page states that recalls stay on the site for three years before being archived. The unfiltered listing returned 61 entries, the oldest dating to roughly 2023, so anything older sits in the archive and was not searched. Both Pedigree entries name United States distribution only, so there is no basis here for a claim about Indian exposure in either direction. The search discriminates rather than simply answering: the identical query form returned zero rows for acana, orijen, whiskas, sheba and Champion Petfoods, and two dated verifiable records for pedigree.
This nil result is worth nothing and is published only to record that the obvious API route was tried and is unusable. The control is what shows it: product_description for dog food returns two records in total across the entire endpoint, both Freshpet recalled by a wholesaler, and cat food returns nothing at all. An endpoint with essentially no pet food coverage cannot clear a brand, so the fda.gov Animal and Veterinary listing above is the register this page relies on. Coverage limit established 13 October 2026, and it is the main thing to read here: this endpoint does not meaningfully index pet food recalls, so the nil above is a fact about the register's coverage of this product class rather than about the brand. Seven firms with documented pet food recalls return zero rows, among them Mars Petcare's Pedigree wet dog food recall of 2 July 2026, Fromm Family Foods' of 21 August 2026 and Revival Animal Health's of 26 August 2026, all three of which are listed in the US FDA Animal & Veterinary register, while human-food controls on the same endpoint on the same day return 42 rows for one firm and 1,354 for one product category. The "pet food" control row is itself a diced-carrot recall. The Animal & Veterinary row is therefore the check that carries weight on this page, and this row is kept because a register that was queried and found wanting is worth reporting as such.
Who owns Pedigree
Pedigree is owned by Mars, Incorporated, and the evidence for that is a document filed with a securities regulator rather than a claim on a brand page.
The owner is named in a press release filed on SEC EDGAR. Mars and Procter & Gamble announced the Iams acquisition on 9 April 2014, and the release lists the acquirer's existing portfolio in plain terms: "Mars brands include: Petcare - PEDIGREE, ROYAL CANIN, WHISKAS, BANFIELD Pet Hospital, NUTRO, SHEBA, DREAMIES and CESAR". The same filing calls PEDIGREE one of "Mars Petcare's billion dollar stable mates". That matters more than the same fact on a marketing page. A filed document carries legal consequences for being wrong, which a website does not, so it is a stronger class of evidence and worth saying so out loud.
The filing prints a registered-trademark symbol after each brand name and an en dash after the word Petcare. Both are dropped above to match house style, and nothing else in the sentence is changed. The quotation was checked against the filing's own bytes on 8 October 2026 rather than copied from an earlier research note.
The owner repeats the claim itself. The boilerplate on the brand's own August 2026 press release reads that Mars produces "some of the world's best-loved brands including ROYAL CANIN, PEDIGREE, WHISKAS, CESAR, M&M'S, SNICKERS, EXTRA, Pringles, Cheez-It, and BEN'S ORIGINAL", and describes Mars as a "$65bn+ family-owned business" on combined Mars and Kellanova 2025 net sales, with approximately 170,000 associates. Two independent dated sources, twelve years apart, agree.
The corporate parent appears on pedigree.in only in a copyright line in the footer. It is not in the About Us copy, not in the manufacturing page, and not in any product description. A buyer who wanted to know which company stands behind the brand would have to read the smallest text on the page to find out.
The Indian legal entity is MARS International India Pvt. Ltd., which the brand's own contact page names along with a Telangana address, contact@in.mars.com and 1800 889 21 21. Its corporate identity number is not published here. Registry aggregators agree on one, but an aggregator is not the filing, and two parts of the string they agree on want explaining before this page repeats it. The reasoning is in the not-established section below.
Where Pedigree food is actually made
To find where a Pedigree pack was made, read the statutory block on that specific pack, because the answer is per SKU and the sellers do not agree about the line as a whole.
One pack size declares a country of origin and another does not. The 20 kg Chicken and Vegetables pack, EAN 8906002486434, declares India on its Amazon.in listing, and it does so twice over independently: as the attribute country-of-origin in an English-locale pull and as the Devanagari equivalent in a Hindi-locale pull of the same ASIN. The 10 kg pack of the same recipe declares no country of origin in either language render. Same brand, same recipe, same seller, two different disclosure outcomes.
Two sellers print a three-country label for the same line. Supertails and Sukadev Animal Care both reproduce a statutory block reading "Country of Origin: Hungary/Thailand/India". Two independent sellers publishing the same three-country field is much harder to dismiss as one shop's data-entry error than one would be, and it is the strongest support for the reading that the line is sourced from more than one country. A third seller, Zigly, states the United Kingdom on a page that prints the Telangana address in the same block, which fits nothing else on its own page and is treated here as unexplained rather than adopted.
| Source | Pack | Country of origin as printed | Manufacturer or importer named |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon.in listing B078XXNPM3 | 20 kg | India | Mars International India, Survey No. 2099-2103, Avusulonipally, District Siddipet |
| Amazon.in listing B00LHS8JZ2 | 10 kg | Not stated in either language render | Manufacturer and packer fields both present, printing two different village names |
| Supertails product page | Line, all packs | Hungary/Thailand/India | Three plants listed, including one at Csongrad-Bokros in Hungary |
| Sukadev Animal Care product page | Line, all packs | Hungary/Thailand/India | Marketed by Mars International India, Darya Ganj, New Delhi |
| Zigly product page | Line, all packs | United Kingdom | Prints the Telangana address in the same block |
The honest position is that the buyer cannot tell from the shelf which answer applies to the bag in their hand. One pack size is declared Indian on a statutory field, while the retailers continue to disagree about the line. This page does not resolve that by picking a favourite, because picking one would be repeating a coin toss.
At least one Pedigree treat is imported
Pedigree Ranchos Super Bones, a 70 g treat, declares Thailand as its country of origin and names a Thai manufacturing address at Samutprakarn, with Mars International India named as importer and distributor. So Pedigree food is made in Telangana and at least one Pedigree treat is imported from Thailand, and nothing on the brand site tells a buyer which is which before they buy.
The brand's own manufacturing page is where that gap is clearest. It names one unit, at "Hyderabad, Telangana", and calls it "the nerve centre of the production process". The registered plant address is in Siddipet district, roughly 100 km from Hyderabad, and the page mentions no imported product, no Thailand and no second source.
One plant, three written addresses
Mars prints its own Telangana site at least three different ways, and the differences are in its own copy rather than between sellers. One Amazon listing carries both spellings side by side, in two different statutory fields on one page: the manufacturer field reads Village Avusulonipally, District Siddipet, and the packer field on the same listing reads Village Wargal, Siddepet Highway, District Medak.
| Where it appears | Village | Highway | District | Survey numbers and PIN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon manufacturer field | Avusulonipally | Siddipet Highway | Siddipet | 2099-2103, 502 279 |
| Amazon packer field, same listing | Wargal | Siddepet Highway | Medak | 2099-2103, 502279 |
| Supertails PRO product description | Wargal | Siddipet Highway | Medak | 2099-2103, 502279 |
| pedigree.in contact page | Avusulonipally | Siddipet Highway | Siddipet | 2099-2103, 502 279 |
The survey numbers and the PIN are constant in every form, so this is almost certainly one site described several ways. The district change is explained: Telangana carved Siddipet district out of Medak in 2016. The village name difference is not explained by anything found, and is not guessed at here.
What Indian law requires of pet food, and what it does not
Indian law requires far less of a pet food made in India than most buyers assume, and it requires measurably more of a pet food imported into India, which is the asymmetry that matters when the origin of a pack is unclear.
Pet food sits outside the Food Safety and Standards Act. The Act defines food as intended for human consumption and expressly excludes animal feed, and the Delhi High Court confirmed in April 2026 that it does not reach animal feed. That single fact explains most of the absences on this page. It is why no FSSAI licence number appears on any Pedigree pack panel, brand page or retail listing checked for this page, and why a search for one is looking for something a pet food business is not required to hold.
Ingredient declaration for pet food exists in India only in a voluntary standard. IS 11968:2019 is the Bureau of Indian Standards specification covering dry dog food. It is voluntary, so no brand is obliged to follow it, and no Pedigree product checked for this page claims conformity to it, carries an ISI mark or references 11968 anywhere. Absence of a claim is not non-conformity, and this page says only that no claim was found.
Pet food made in India has no mandatory product standard. Pet food imported into India needs a Sanitary Import Permit and a health certificate from the exporting country, and the Animal Quarantine and Certification Service lists pet foods as item 6 of nine on its high-risk list requiring that permit. Its checklist for importing livestock products also requires a country of origin certificate. On that evidence the imported bag clears a documentary bar the locally made bag does not.
The import requirement comes from the Animal Quarantine and Certification Service's own import and export procedures page, which states that the Sanitary Import Permit is "issued for high risk products" under a 2014 notification. The underlying order has not been read for this page, so the procedure page is named as the source and nothing further is claimed about the statute itself.
There is one more consequence worth naming. Because pet food is outside the food safety regime, the two Indian registers that would otherwise hold a withdrawal notice, the FSSAI FoSCoS food recall page and the Central Consumer Protection Authority, returned nothing searchable by brand for any pet food brand at all. That is a finding about those two registers rather than about this brand, and the section below sets out what each one did on the day it was tried.
What the recall registers actually returned
Two entries for this brand appear in the US FDA's current Animal and Veterinary recalls and withdrawals listing, searched on 27 August 2026, and no Indian register could be searched at all.
The phrasing matters and this page keeps to it. Two entries appear in FDA's current listing, which FDA's own parent page says holds recalls for three years before archiving them. That is not the same statement as a count of this brand's recalls over its lifetime, and this page does not make the second one.
The search discriminates, which is what makes the result worth printing. The identical query form on the same listing returned zero rows for Acana, Orijen, Whiskas, Sheba and Champion Petfoods, and two dated, verifiable records for Pedigree, against 61 entries in the unfiltered listing. A register that returns hits for comparable searches and two for this one is answering the question rather than simply failing to find anything.
| Date | Product | Stated reason | Distribution | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18 May 2024 | PEDIGREE Adult Complete Nutrition Grilled Steak and Vegetable Flavor Dry Dog Food, 44 lb bag, 315 bags, Lot 410B2TXT02 | Potential Presence of Loose Metal Pieces | Walmart stores in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas | Terminated |
| 2 July 2026 | PEDIGREE Can High Protein Chopped Chicken and Duck Flavor, 13.2 oz, lots 613C3KKCFC and 613C1KKCFC, 185,184 cans | Potential presence of sharp metal and plastic foreign material | United States only | Not marked terminated |
The July 2026 event is not a manufacturing failure, and the page must say so. The company's own account is that the two lots failed its standards, were sent to a third-party vendor for destruction, and were then "fraudulently diverted and sold through unauthorized channels in the United States". On that account the quality control worked and a third party defeated the disposal, which is a supply-chain integrity failure downstream of the maker rather than a fault in how the food was made. The same page states the quantity as 185,184 cans and reports no related reports of pet illness or injury to date. The 2024 notice likewise states there were no reports of pet injury or illness.
FDA's own structured Recall Reason Description for the July 2026 event says only "Potential foreign plastic contamination". The announcement text on the same FDA page says "metal and plastic foreign material" and "sharp metal and plastic". The regulator's machine-readable summary omits the metal, which is the more dangerous of the two materials, so anyone reading the field rather than the notice gets a materially softer description of the hazard than the company gave. The 2024 entry's field matches its notice, so this is a one-off rather than a systematic pattern.
Neither notice says anything about India. Both state United States distribution only, so the working answer on Indian exposure is no. That is not a confirmed no, and not stated is not confirmed absent.
Why the openFDA, FoSCoS and CCPA registers produce no usable check
The openFDA food enforcement API was queried and returned nothing for this brand, and that nil result is published only to record that the obvious route was tried and is unusable. Its control is what shows why: a search of the same endpoint for dog food returns two records in total across the entire API, both for a different company, and cat food returns nothing at all. An endpoint with essentially no pet food coverage cannot clear a brand.
The FSSAI FoSCoS food recall page returned HTTP 200 but never rendered across repeated attempts on five different tools, and no public register was located at the Central Consumer Protection Authority, whose host certificate was expired throughout. Neither failure is about this brand. Neither FoSCoS nor the CCPA is recorded as a check in the structured rows above, because a nil result from an instrument with no passing control is not a finding, it is a broken instrument.
What Pedigree costs, per kilogram
To compare Pedigree packs, divide every price by the pack weight, because on this brand the pack ladder is not monotonic and the larger bag is sometimes the dearer one.
Amazon's 15 kg bag costs Rs 533 more than its 20 kg bag, for 5 kg less food. On one listing, on one day, with the delivery location set to Mumbai 400001, the 15 kg pack was Rs 3,648 and the 20 kg pack was Rs 3,115. Per kilogram that is Rs 243.20 against Rs 155.75, a 56 percent premium for the smaller bag. Neither is a bundle and neither is a promotion; both are plain single packs of the same recipe.
| Pack | Price | Price per kg | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 kg | Rs 222.00 | Rs 222.00 | |
| 1.2 kg | Rs 299.00 | Rs 249.17 | |
| 3 kg | Rs 547.00 | Rs 182.33 | |
| 5.5 kg | No price returned | Not computable | Listing returned no price |
| 10 kg | No price returned | Not computable | Out of stock in both language renders |
| 15 kg | Rs 3,648.00 | Rs 243.20 | Dearer in total than the 20 kg |
| 20 kg | Rs 3,115.00 | Rs 155.75 | Cheapest per kg found anywhere |
Across seven listings of the 20 kg pack the spread is Rs 3,115 to Rs 3,777, which is 21.3 percent, or Rs 662 on one bag. Two of the three cheapest are out of stock, so the cheapest pack a buyer can actually put in a basket is not the cheapest number in the table. A price table that omits stock status misleads, which is why the structured price rows below carry it.
Pack-size economics have no general rule
Here the 20 kg is cheaper per kilogram than the 10 kg at every seller that lists both. That is the opposite of what the same exercise found on another brand, where the 20 kg bag cost more per kilogram than two 10 kg bags, and different again from a multipack that saved nothing. Three brands have now produced three different pack-size outcomes, so the only defensible general statement is that price per kilogram has to be computed every time. Our dog diet chart for India sets out how much food a given weight of dog needs, which is the other half of that calculation.
The arithmetic is worth doing before buying the volume pack. A dog eating 200 g a day finishes 20 kg in 100 days; at 100 g a day it takes 200 days, which is most of a year. A household in Mumbai or Chennai buying in April is then storing an open bag of kibble through the monsoon, in heat and humidity, for months. Follow the storage instruction printed on the pack rather than any figure here, and treat the per-kilogram saving as real only over the quantity you will actually use while it is good. For one small dog, two 10 kg bags bought months apart can be the better buy even at the worse price per kilogram.
Bundles first. Heads Up For Tails lists a 1 kg plus 15 treat packs at Rs 950 and ShakeHands lists a 20 kg plus 2 kg free pack as a separate product. Dividing either by its dry-food weight gives a figure that is simply wrong. Recipes second. The Flipkart listing visible on the price search was Chicken and Milk, which is the puppy recipe, at a named sale-event price. Reading the pack size without reading the recipe name would put a puppy-food price into an adult-food comparison.
Two sellers state different maximum retail prices for the same 10 kg pack. ShakeHands states Rs 2,150 where Petsworld, Zigly, Supertails, Sukadev Animal Care and Heads Up For Tails all state Rs 2,390. MRP is printed on the pack under the Legal Metrology (Packaged Commodities) Rules and is not a seller's choice, so either one seller is misstating it or two pack generations with different printed prices are on the market at once. This page reports the disagreement rather than picking a side, and notes the consequence: a discount percentage calculated against a different stated MRP is not comparable with the others.
The premium line, and why a matched price proves nothing
Pedigree PRO Expert Nutrition Active Adult Large Breed 10 kg runs Rs 3,247 to Rs 3,438 across four sellers, or Rs 324.70 to Rs 343.80 per kilogram, which is 51 percent more per kilogram than the standard recipe from the same seller on the same day. Six weeks earlier three independent sellers listed that pack at the identical figure of Rs 3,438. Today only one of them does. An earlier research pass recorded the match and deliberately declined to explain it; that restraint turned out to be right, because a matched price that stops matching does not support a claim about how the price was set.
What Pedigree sells in India, and why the US range is not the same
Pedigree's Indian range runs eight product lines across four formats, and it overlaps the brand's US range in almost nothing, which is why overseas coverage of the brand is a poor guide to the product on an Indian shelf.
The Indian lines are PEDIGREE, PEDIGREE Pro, PEDIGREE PROCARE, DENTASTIX, TASTY JERKY, BISCROK, RANCHOS and TASTY MINIS, across dry food, wet food, dental care, and biscuits and treats. Life stages offered are puppy, adult and senior, although senior appears in the navigation while the homepage life stage block offers only puppy and adult.
India gets a 100 percent vegetarian dry range that the US range does not have. A vegetarian complete dry dog food is close to unique among multinational brands here, and it is an India-specific product decision rather than a global line adapted locally.
Compare the US navigation, which offers DRIZZLERS, MarroBites, JUMBONE, CHEWY CHUNX, TASTY BISCUITS, TWISTY CHEWS, Healthy Weight, High Protein and Complete Nutrition. Apart from Dentastix, essentially none of that is the Indian range, and none of the Indian lines appear in the US one.
The seventh organic result on India's own search for whether this brand is good for dogs is an Australian review site. Its page metadata reads language en-AU, its image is captioned Pedigree Adult Beef 20kg, and it is tagged with five Australian retail chains. Beef is not in the Indian Pedigree dry range, which runs chicken and vegetables, chicken and milk, and meat and rice. An Indian reader following that result is reading a verdict on a product no Indian seller lists.
Recipes change, so date every composition statement. Mars announced in August 2026 what it called its most significant dog food renovation in a decade, reformulating the classic adult dry food with plus-sign shaped Vitamin GoodBites kibble pieces, identifiable by a "+" on new packaging. That announcement is datelined Franklin, Tennessee and quotes the Vice President for the brand at Mars Pet Nutrition North America. Whether the Indian adult recipe changed in the same way is not established by it, and no equivalent Indian announcement was found. Any statement about what is in a Pedigree bag needs the date of the pack it describes.
The brand is also a publisher, and that is a conflict worth naming
Pedigree runs a large breed and care content operation that targets the same questions this encyclopedia answers, and a manufacturer writing about which food suits a breed has an interest in the answer.
The brand site carries a dog care article library, an age calculator, breed and life stage guidance, and an Ask an Expert service. Those pages rank. On the Indian search for this brand, pedigree.in holds the first organic position and appears three times across the three keyword sets harvested for this page.
The brand defends itself on ingredients and on nothing else. Its myths and facts page runs five numbered rebuttals, and every one is an ingredient question: animal derivatives, meat meals, the claim that there is only four percent chicken or meat in its products, raw diets, and chicken by-products. Not one of the five is about ownership, country of origin, licensing, standards or recall history. The brand has chosen the ground it argues on, and it is not the ground a buyer checking provenance needs.
This page takes a plain position on that. A company selling the food is not a neutral source on whether the food suits your dog, and a retailer is not either. The third organic result on the Indian search for whether this brand is good for dogs is a pet supply shop publishing what it titles a vet-backed honest review of a brand it stocks, with a shopping cart in the same page markup and no disclosure of the commercial relationship in any heading. That does not make it wrong. It does mean the reader is being sold to while being advised.
The brand site's Ask an Expert service does not name its experts, so nothing those experts say is repeated here, under the standing rule that no vet-recommended claim publishes without naming who said it. The August 2026 press release does name one: Dr. Anne Marie Bakke, described as a veterinarian and pet nutrition scientist with the Waltham Petcare Science Institute. The institute is Mars' own research body. A named, credentialled scientist is a real improvement on an anonymous expert panel, and she is employed within the group that sells the product. Both halves of that are true and the reader is entitled to both.
Bonbeno sells no pet food and takes no payment for a finding. A brand may buy a labelled placement on this site and may never buy a fact, which includes the ownership section, what each register returned, the wording of anything in not-established, and the removal of any finding. This page is not sponsored. Our how we test page sets out what a product verdict will require when the reviews section opens, and this brand hub makes no quality judgement at all.
How to read this page
Read every figure here as true on the date beside it, and read every absence as a search that was run and came back empty rather than as a question nobody asked.
Prices were read from the sellers' own product data on 8 October 2026, not from a scrape of a rendered grid, because in a grid the nearest figure to a product name is often the next product's. Amazon figures were read with the delivery location set to Mumbai 400001, and Amazon prices and availability are location dependent, so that is part of the observation rather than a footnote to it.
Every rupee figure on this page was divided by 84.38 and by 74 to check whether it resolves to a round dollar price, which would suggest a converted US figure rather than an observed Indian one. None of them does. The prices are rupee-native.
The nine not-established entries below are findings, not gaps. Each one records what was looked for, where it was looked for, why it is not established, and the positive test that would settle it. An absence published without a positive test is just an assertion, so none of them is published without one. Where a register returned nothing, the control search is printed beside it, because a nil result from an instrument that returns nothing for anything is worth nothing.
This page asserts no rating of its own and makes no recommendation. Where a retailer's displayed customer rating is reported, it is reported as a fact about that listing on that date and not adopted as a judgement. For what a brand hub is allowed to conclude and what it is not, the short answer is that it establishes who, where, how much and what went wrong, and leaves whether it is any good to a tested review.
What we could not establish
The 9 questions below are the ones this page could not answer, and they are published rather than left out. Each one names what was looked for, where, why it could not be settled, and the test that would show it if the answer were there.
Whether Mars International India holds an FSSAI licence, and under what category
A licence number printed on the pack panel, on the brand site, or in any retail listing attribute block
Looked in: pedigree.in, including the contact page and the manufacturing page, every Amazon.in listing attribute block pulled for this brand, roughly thirty Indian retail product pages across six sellers, for all five Mars-group brands, a targeted search for a Mars International India FSSAI licence
Why it could not be settled: No FSSAI licence number appears in any of those places, and FoSCoS has not been queried directly. The deeper reason there may be nothing to find is that pet food sits outside the Food Safety and Standards Act, which defines food as intended for human consumption and expressly excludes animal feed, so no licence is required of a pet food business as such.
What would show otherwise: A licence number would be printed on the statutory pack panel and would return a matching entity in a FoSCoS licence search for Mars International India Pvt. Ltd.
Which country the 10 kg volume pack comes from
A stated country of origin for the 10 kg Pedigree Adult Dry, Chicken & Vegetables pack
Looked in: the Amazon.in listing for ASIN B00LHS8JZ2, in both the English and the Hindi locale render, Supertails, which states Hungary/Thailand/India for the line and lists three plants including one at Csongrad-Bokros in Hungary, Sukadev Animal Care, which independently states the same three-country field, Zigly, which states the United Kingdom while printing the Siddipet address on the same page, Heads Up For Tails, which states India and names the Siddipet plant with no importer, Petsworld and Marshalls Petzone, which carry no origin, manufacturer, importer or FSSAI text at all
Why it could not be settled: The 20 kg pack is now settled: it declares India on a statutory field in both language renders. The 10 kg declares nothing in either, and the sellers continue to disagree about the line as a whole, with the three-country label now corroborated by a second independent seller. Read carefully they do not all conflict, because a multi-country label naming every plant Mars might ship from is consistent with the Indian plant being one source among several. Zigly's United Kingdom fits nothing else on its own page and is treated as unexplained until corroborated. What is not established is which country the 10 kg bag in a particular buyer's hand came from.
What would show otherwise: A statutory country-of-origin line on the 10 kg Chicken & Vegetables pack panel would name one country, and a photograph of that panel would end the disagreement for that pack.
The CIN and registered-office jurisdiction of Mars International India
The company's CIN, incorporation date and registered office from the MCA record itself
Looked in: company-registry aggregators, which agree on one CIN and a May 1994 incorporation date, the MCA master-data record, which has not been read
Why it could not be settled: Aggregators are not the filing, and two parts of the string they agree on want explaining before it publishes. Its jurisdiction segment puts the registered office in Delhi while the plant and the brand's own contact address are in Telangana, and its activity class code is an other-business-services one rather than a food-manufacturing one, which is odd for a company operating a pet food factory. The number is therefore withheld rather than repeated.
What would show otherwise: The MCA master-data page for the company name would print the CIN, the registered-office state and the activity class, and would either match that string or contradict it.
Whether any Pedigree product claims conformity to IS 11968:2019
A BIS reference, an ISI mark or an IS 11968 claim on the pack, the brand site or a listing
Looked in: pedigree.in/trustable-manufacturing-process, every Amazon.in and seller listing pulled for this brand
Why it could not be settled: No claim was found anywhere. Absence of a claim is not non-conformity, and this page says only that no claim was found. IS 11968:2019 is a voluntary standard that no brand is obliged to follow, and whether any Indian pet food brand holds a licence against it could not be settled because the BIS licence directory sits behind a login.
What would show otherwise: A conformity claim would appear as an ISI mark on the pack panel and as a licence row in the BIS directory under the plant address.
Whether India has any pet food recall register to search at all
An Indian register that can be searched by brand name for a pet food recall
Looked in: the FSSAI FoSCoS food recall page, which returns HTTP 200 but never rendered in eight attempts across five tools, the Central Consumer Protection Authority, where no public register was located and the host certificate was expired throughout
Why it could not be settled: Neither the FSSAI FoSCoS food recall page nor the Central Consumer Protection Authority yielded a register that could be searched for a recall of any pet food brand, and both failed for reasons about the register rather than about this brand. No nil result from either is recorded as a recall check on this page, because a nil with no passing control is not a finding. Pet food is in any case outside the Food Safety and Standards Act, which the Delhi High Court confirmed in April 2026 does not reach animal feed.
What would show otherwise: A searchable Indian register would return a dated entry for some pet food brand, which would prove the register answers and make a nil result for this one worth printing.
Whether either FDA-listed product was ever sold in India
A distribution statement covering India in either recall notice
Looked in: the 18 May 2024 FDA notice, which names Walmart stores in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas, the 2 July 2026 FDA notice and the company's own update page, which name the United States marketplace
Why it could not be settled: Both notices state United States distribution only, so the working answer is no. That is not the same as a confirmed no: neither notice says anything about India, and not stated is not confirmed absent. The products themselves are US-range items, a 44 lb bag and a 13.2 oz can, in formats and recipes the Indian range does not carry.
What would show otherwise: An Indian exposure would appear as an Indian distribution line in the FDA notice, or as a corresponding Indian notice or importer advisory, neither of which exists.
Why one plant is printed under at least three written addresses
A filing that names the plant's village, so the Wargal and Avusulonipally spellings can be reconciled
Looked in: one Amazon.in listing that prints both spellings side by side, as manufacturer and as packer, the Supertails PRO product description, which pairs Wargal with Siddipet Highway and Medak district, pedigree.in, which prints Avusulonipally and Siddipet only
Why it could not be settled: All three forms share survey numbers 2099-2103, the PIN 502279 and the highway, so they are almost certainly one site. The district change from Medak to Siddipet is explained by Telangana carving Siddipet out of Medak in 2016. The village name difference is not explained by anything found, and is not guessed at. What makes it reportable rather than trivial is that the variants are Mars' own descriptions of its own site, in one case printed in two statutory fields on a single page.
What would show otherwise: A factory licence or an MCA filing listing the plant address would print one village name for survey numbers 2099-2103.
When the PEDIGREE name was adopted, and in which markets
A date for the brand name on the owner's own timeline
Looked in: mars.com/about/history, which dates the pet food entry to 1935 and the Kal Kan acquisition to 1968, and whose dated dog food entries are PAL in 1954 and CHUM in 1960, the brand's own August 2026 press release, which claims a legacy of over 40 years for the brand and more than 60 years for the science behind it
Why it could not be settled: The owner's own timeline does not date the PEDIGREE name at all, and the brand's own press release makes two different longevity claims in one document without dating the name either. This page therefore gives no founding date rather than inferring one from the 1935 or 1968 entries, neither of which is about this name. A third-party review site asserts the name descends from a horse meat product; that claim is not adopted here without a primary source.
What would show otherwise: A dated entry naming PEDIGREE would appear on the owner's history page beside the PAL and CHUM entries that are dated.
Who the brand site's Ask an Expert experts are
Names and credentials for the experts behind the brand site's Ask an Expert service
Looked in: pedigree.in, which runs the service without naming them
Why it could not be settled: The service is unattributed on the site. Under the standing rule that no vet-recommended claim publishes without naming who said it, nothing those experts say is repeated on this page until they are named. The contrast is instructive: the owner's own press release does name a veterinary scientist, at its own research institute, so the capacity to attribute plainly exists.
What would show otherwise: A named expert with credentials would appear on the Ask an Expert page or in its answers, as a veterinary registration number or a named person.
Common questions
Who owns Pedigree dog food?
Mars, Incorporated owns Pedigree. A press release filed on SEC EDGAR in April 2014 lists PEDIGREE among Mars brands, and the brand's own August 2026 press release repeats it. In India the brand is made and marketed by MARS International India Pvt. Ltd. The owner's name appears on pedigree.in only in a footer copyright line.
Where is Pedigree dog food made for the Indian market?
The 20 kg Chicken and Vegetables pack declares India as its country of origin and names a plant in Siddipet district, Telangana. The 10 kg pack of the same recipe declares no country of origin at all. Two sellers print a label reading Hungary, Thailand and India for the line, and one Pedigree treat declares Thailand.
Is Pedigree dog food FSSAI approved?
No FSSAI licence number was found on any Pedigree pack panel, on the brand site, or in any of roughly thirty Indian retail listings checked. The likely reason is that pet food falls outside the Food Safety and Standards Act, which covers food for human consumption and expressly excludes animal feed, so no licence is required of a pet food business as such.
Has Pedigree dog food been recalled?
Two entries for the brand appear in the US FDA's current Animal and Veterinary recalls listing, which holds records for three years: a 315 bag dry food withdrawal in May 2024, now terminated, and a 185,184 can wet food one in July 2026. Both state United States distribution only. The FSSAI FoSCoS page and the Central Consumer Protection Authority returned nothing searchable by brand.
How much does 1 kg of dog food cost?
For Pedigree Adult Chicken and Vegetables on 8 October 2026, between Rs 155.75 and Rs 243.20 per kilogram depending on pack size, and between Rs 155.75 and Rs 188.85 per kilogram for the 20 kg pack depending on seller. The premium PRO line runs Rs 324.70 to Rs 343.80 per kilogram, which is about 51 percent more.
Is pedigree recommended by vets?
This page repeats no vet recommendation for the brand, because the brand site's Ask an Expert service does not name its experts and an unattributed recommendation is not checkable. The owner's own August 2026 press release does name a veterinary scientist at the Waltham Petcare Science Institute, which is Mars' own research body, so that endorsement comes from inside the group that sells the food.
Which brand is best, drools or pedigree?
This page does not rank brands against each other and makes no quality judgement about any of them. What it offers instead is the comparable evidence: who owns each brand, whether a given pack declares a country of origin, what each recall register returned on a dated search, and the price per kilogram across sellers. Compare those.
What are the ingredients of pedigree dog food?
The Indian adult dry recipe, as reproduced by one seller, begins with multi-cereal products containing whole wheat and rice and includes soyabean meal and chicken. The brand devotes a page to defending its use of animal derivatives, meat meals and chicken by-products. Recipes change, so read the pack panel and note its date rather than relying on any published list.