Cat health guide

Cat spaying and neutering in India: age, cost, recovery and low-cost routes

The age question answered from the guideline bodies in their own words, the pain question from the WSAVA protocol and the AWBI's own cat guideline, recovery for a cat in a Mumbai or Delhi flat, and every rupee figure read on the clinic's or the NGO's own page on 18 September 2026.

A short-haired Indian domestic cat with a small V notch in its right ear resting in a clean steel recovery cage at an Indian animal welfare ward

Quick answer

Cat neutering in India is best done around four months and by five months, the ages International Cat Care and the Veterinary Task Force on Feline Sterilization give. It costs Rs 1,000 to Rs 2,500 at NGO wards that print a fee, Rs 4,000 to Rs 5,000 at a Delhi clinic and up to Rs 20,000 privately. WSAVA and the AWBI require up to three days of pain relief afterwards. The ABC Rules 2023 mention cats only in Rule 19. Your nearby vet decides.

Health information notice

This guide is general information for Indian pet owners and is not a diagnosis. Always consult a registered veterinarian near you before acting on anything you read here, and treat any sudden change in your pet's condition as urgent.

Find a registered veterinarian near you

5 monthsAge by which the Veterinary Task Force on Feline Sterilization says to sterilise a catSource: Philip A. Bushby
91 percentMammary carcinoma risk reduction when spayed before 6 months (308 cases, 400 controls)Source: Overley B, Shofer FS, Goldschmidt MH
4.29 timesOdds of death before age 3, entire against neutered cats, VetCompass 2019 (7,936 deaths)Source: Teng KT, Brodbelt DC, Church DB
Up to 3 daysPost-operative analgesia the WSAVA protocol allows for after a cat spay or castrationSource: WSAVA Global Pain Council
Rs 1,000 per catLowest all-in NGO fee on a page we opened, Blue Cross Society Pune, 18 September 2026Source: Blue Cross Society of Pune
Rule 19The one rule of the ABC Rules 2023 that mentions catsSource: Ministry of Fisheries

What cat neutering is: spaying, castration and what is removed

Cat neutering is the surgery that stops a cat reproducing: spaying removes a female's ovaries and usually the uterus, castration removes a male's testes, and both happen under general anaesthesia.

A spay goes through the belly or the flank, leaves a shaved patch and stitches that come out after seven to ten days; a castration goes through a small scrotal incision and needs no stitches; both go home the same day at a private clinic. The AWBI's cat guideline allows a ventral midline, paramedian, flank or laparoscopic approach for a female, requires a scrotal approach for a male, and states that "for females complete removal of both ovaries and for males removal of both testes is mandatory";. Vetic bills the two as bilateral orchiectomy and complete ovariohysterectomy.

Indian clinics say "sterilisation" for either sex because the national programme is Animal Birth Control and its centres are ABC centres. A community cat that has been through one carries a V notch cut from the tip of its right ear during surgery. The four words a Mumbai or Delhi clinic will use are listed below.

  • Spay: removal of the ovaries, with or without the uterus, in a female cat, under general anaesthesia.
  • Castration: removal of both testes in a male cat, also called neutering, orchiectomy or, on Indian NGO forms, simply "neuter".
  • Sterilisation or ABC: the Indian umbrella term for either operation, from the Animal Birth Control Rules that govern the street-animal programme.
  • Ear notch: the V cut on the right ear that marks a sterilised community cat; The Feline Foundation charges a pet cat less if the owner accepts one.

What is the correct age to neuter a cat: four months, by five months, or six months?

The correct age to neuter a cat is before it can breed: around four months in International Cat Care's words, and by five months in the Veterinary Task Force on Feline Sterilization position that the AVMA, AAHA and the American Association of Feline Practitioners endorse, against the six months many clinics still quote Philip A. Bushby.

International Cat Care's sentence, updated 26 September 2025, is "Neutering should routinely take place at around four months of age, before cats reach sexual maturity." Kittens reach sexual maturity from around four months, a queen's first season is usually around six months but can be earlier, she can have up to three litters a year, and "recent evidence has shown that there are no disadvantages to neutering cats at around four months old";. The Feline Foundation puts it in street terms: female cats get pregnant as early as four months and deliver unwanted litters every few months, up to a dozen kittens a year, so spaying a cat before that first litter is the point of the four-month figure.

The five-month position is the 2016 Task Force's final recommendation, quoted in full: "Given the known benefits of sterilization and the lack of evidence for harm related to age at which the procedure is performed, the Veterinary Taskforce on Feline Sterilization calls for veterinary practitioners and professional associations to recommend sterilization of cats by five months of age." AAHA, the AVMA, the AAFP, the Association of Shelter Veterinarians, the Cat Fanciers' Association, TICA and 13 US state associations endorsed it, and the surgeon behind it, Philip Bushby, adds that the operations are quicker, easier and safer under five months with no more major complications and fewer minor ones. The Feline Fix by Five campaign runs an awareness month every February on one line: kittens can get pregnant as early as four months, so fix before five, while "many veterinarians still recommend waiting until six months or later";.

What the 2021 AAHA/AAFP life stage guideline actually says

The 2021 AAHA/AAFP Feline Life Stage Guidelines print no age. Read through pypdf, they say sterilisation "may be covered once in an initial consultation" and point to "The AAFP Position Statement entitled 'Early spay and castration'" for timing. That statement's address on catvets.com returned HTTP 404 on this attempt, 18 September 2026, so the by-five-months wording here is quoted from the Task Force through AAHA's magazine: "AAHA says five months" is true by endorsement, not by the guideline's text.

The evidence is a cohort. Spain, Scarlett and Houpt followed 1,660 shelter cats gonadectomised before one year, median follow-up 3.9 years: surgery before 5.5 months "was not associated with increased rates of death or relinquishment or occurrence of any serious medical or behavioral condition", and "veterinarians should consider recommending routine gonadectomy for client-owned cats before the traditional age of 6 to 8 months";. Bushby answers the one myth Indian owners repeat most, that an early-castrated tom blocks: the literature "documents that urethral diameters are the same in cats castrated at seven weeks of age, cats castrated at seven months of age, and cats left intact";.

Who says what age for cat neutering, with the document each figure comes from Philip A. Bushby
SourceAgeWhat it rests on
International Cat Care, updated 26 September 2025Around 4 monthsSexual maturity from 4 months; no disadvantages found at that age
Cats Protection (first Google India result)4 months or youngerCharity guidance; no study named on the page
RSPCAAround 4 months, before she attracts tomsCharity guidance; no study named on the page
Veterinary Task Force on Feline Sterilization, 2016By 5 monthsPosition paper; endorsed by AVMA, AAHA, AAFP, ASV, CFA, TICA
Spain, Scarlett and Houpt, JAVMA 2004Before 5.5 months found safe1,660 shelter cats, median 3.9 years of follow-up
Bushby, AAHA Trends 20218 weeks in a shelter; 4 to 5 months for an owned kittenAdd one visit 2 to 3 weeks after the last kitten vaccination
AWBI cat guidelines, February 2025No minimum age or weight statedPhysical examination 12 to 14 hours before surgery; weight taken close to surgery
Vetic blog, March 2026No age given; says early neutering "might slow growth"No study named

For an Indian kitten the date sits on the vaccination calendar: the cat vaccination schedule for India ends the kitten series at 16 weeks or later, and Bushby's fix is one more appointment two to three weeks after the last vaccination, landing surgery between four and five months. The Feline Foundation asks for a Tricat vaccine at least 21 days before surgery for a stray and requires one within 12 months, with a blood test, for a pet cat. The AWBI's cat guideline sets no minimum age or weight; it requires an examination 12 to 14 hours before surgery and pregnancy status checked in every female.

Your nearby vet decides the date for your cat

Four months and five months are guideline ages for a healthy kitten of normal weight. A kitten that is underweight, recovering from an infection, or a flat-faced Persian with noisy breathing is a case for the vet who examines it, and International Cat Care itself asks owners of very large breeds such as the Maine Coon to discuss timing with their vet. Use the ages here to ask the question early, not to overrule the person holding the stethoscope.

What neutering changes: cancer, lifespan and behaviour, with the denominators

Neutering a cat cuts mammary carcinoma risk by 91 percent when done before six months, is associated with 4.29 times lower odds of dying before age three, and reduces spraying, roaming and fighting in males, in studies of 308 cases, 7,936 deaths and 1,660 cats Teng KT, Brodbelt DC, Church DB Spain CV, Scarlett JM.

Mammary carcinoma and pyometra

The 91 percent comes from a case-control study of 308 cats with confirmed mammary carcinoma and 400 controls from the same biopsy service: intact cats were over-represented (odds ratio 2.7), cats spayed before six months had a 91 percent lower risk than intact cats, cats spayed before one year an 86 percent lower risk, and parity made no difference. Mammary neoplasia is the third most common neoplasia in cats, mostly malignant, with life expectancy after diagnosis under a year. Spaying also removes pyometra, a potentially life-threatening infection of the uterus.

Lifespan

VetCompass built life tables from 7,936 confirmed deaths in UK cats in 2019: life expectancy at birth was 11.74 years, and entire cats had 4.29 times the odds (95 percent confidence interval 3.72 to 4.95) of dying before three years compared with neutered cats. India has no life table, but the mechanism is not British: entire toms roam, fight, pick up FIV and FeLV through bites and are hit by cars. Testing for FIV and FeLV is on the cat vaccination schedule for India page.

Do male cats change after neutering? Two studies with a denominator

Male cats change in five measured ways and keep their rank. In the 1,660-cat cohort, males done before 5.5 months showed less abscessing, less aggression toward veterinarians, fewer sexual behaviours and less urine spraying, and more hiding; in both sexes asthma, gingivitis and hyperactivity fell and shyness rose. In a colony of 17 unowned cats watched for 735 hours before and 537 after neutering, the hierarchy did not change, aggressive and territorial behaviour fell, spraying "almost disappeared" and the cats were less active. The 2021 AAHA/AAFP guideline adds the limit: about 10 percent of sterilised cats in one study still marked, and "neutering will not eliminate or prevent spraying in all cats". The five changes are listed below.

  • Urine spraying: decreased in early-neutered males across 1,660 cats, and almost gone in the 17-cat colony; about 10 percent of neutered cats still mark.
  • Fighting and abscesses: fewer abscesses in early-neutered males, and less aggression in the colony after neutering.
  • Activity: the clearest effect on individual behaviour in the colony study was that cats were less active.
  • Hiding and shyness: more hiding in early-neutered males and more shyness in both sexes, the one change in the wrong direction.
  • Social rank: unchanged; the colony's hierarchy survived neutering intact.

Weight gain, the one change that is on you

Weight gain after neutering is a feeding problem. The 2021 guideline states that "neutering is a risk factor for obesity in cats, especially males", that energy restriction may be appropriate, and that "obesity prevention starts with kittens";; International Cat Care says to monitor the cat and adjust the diet. Weigh the cat monthly and write it down; the Bengal and British Shorthair pages carry the breed weight notes.

Is neutering painful for cats? What the pain guidelines require your clinic to do

Yes, neutering is painful for cats unless it is treated: the WSAVA Global Pain Council protocol states that castration and ovariohysterectomy in cats "are associated with pain of varying severity", strongly recommends general anaesthesia with preventive, multimodal analgesia, and says postoperative analgesics "may be required for up to 3 days after surgery especially after ovariohysterectomy".

The protocol is tiered for countries where not every drug exists, which makes it a checklist for India. Its full tier gives an opioid with a sedative before surgery, a local block (intra-testicular for a castration, incisional and intraperitoneal for a spay) and an NSAID after; its tier without controlled drugs gives an NSAID with an alpha-2 agonist; its tier "with limited availability of analgesic drugs" still requires an alpha-2 agonist with or without an NSAID, and at every tier "the same NSAID should be used pre- and postoperatively";.

India's written floor is close to it. The AWBI's February 2025 cat guideline requires pre-emptive analgesia, names meloxicam at 0.2 mg/kg subcutaneously before surgery (not if the cat is in shock or dehydrated), lists buprenorphine, fentanyl, butorphanol or nalbuphine for afterwards, "or in ABC units where opioids are not available then 0.1 mg/kg meloxicam can be used for up to 3 days", and adds that "multimodal approaches are recommended when possible". A community cat at a recognised centre is entitled, on paper, to a named drug before the incision and up to three days of relief after it.

The pain is visible for about as long as the guidelines treat it: the 2022 ISFM consensus reports that owners can identify behavioural alterations up to three days after castration or spay, namely less activity and play, more sleeping and altered locomotion, and that the Feline Grimace Scale can be used reliably by owners at home. The Feline Foundation's "completely under anaesthesia so it is painless and humane" describes the operation, and the same page lists pain medicine among what every cat receives afterwards. The five questions to ask before you book are listed below.

  1. Ask which analgesic is given before the incision and which one goes home, because the WSAVA protocol wants the same NSAID before and after surgery.
  2. Ask how many days of pain relief are dispensed, against the three days both WSAVA and the AWBI guideline allow for.
  3. Ask whether a local block is used, an intra-testicular block for a castration or an incisional block for a spay, which the protocol lists at every tier.
  4. Ask for a written dose and time for whatever tablet or syrup comes home, so a Sunday evening does not turn into a guess.
  5. Ask what to watch for, and read the ISFM Cat Carer Guide on acute pain, which the consensus publishes for owners.
Never give a human painkiller to a cat

Paracetamol (Tylenol, Crocin, Dolo) is toxic to cats, and aspirin can be deadly after surgery; the shelter clinics that publish post-operative sheets print this in capitals, and it applies to the strip in your kitchen drawer. If the cat looks sore after the dispensed course ends, the answer is a call to the vet who did the surgery, not a tablet from the chemist.

The surgery day at an Indian clinic or NGO: fasting, tests, the ward and going home

The surgery day for a cat in India runs from a six-to-eight-hour fast through an examination, usually a blood test, general anaesthesia and a 15-to-20-minute operation, and ends with same-day discharge at a private clinic or a four-to-seven-day stay in an NGO ward Tini Sara Anien, Bengaluru gets… Blue Cross Society of Pune.

The seven steps, as the clinics and the AWBI guideline describe them, are listed below.

  1. Book in advance. The Feline Foundation takes a form and calls within a week with a slot, CUPA's Maitri centre takes appointments on WhatsApp only, and Blue Cross Society Pune takes an email and allows no walk-ins.
  2. Vaccinate ahead where you can. The Feline Foundation recommends the Tricat vaccine at least 21 days before surgery for a stray and requires it within the last 12 months for a pet cat; rabies is given during the surgery.
  3. Fast the cat. The AWBI cat guideline withholds food for a minimum of six to eight hours before surgery; International Cat Care says to withhold food for the period your veterinary team advises and to keep the cat indoors beforehand.
  4. Admit for examination. The AWBI guideline requires a physical examination 12 to 14 hours before surgery, 12 hours of observation in the cat housing area, and, when possible, a CBC, creatinine, GGT and a chest x-ray; The Feline Foundation admits the cat the day before and operates the next day.
  5. Anaesthetise and operate. General anaesthesia with continuous monitoring, an intravenous catheter with lactated Ringer's at 3 ml/kg/hour, active warming, and sterile instruments and drapes for each patient are the AWBI minimums; the procedure itself takes around 15 to 20 minutes at CUPA.
  6. Vaccinate and mark, at an NGO. Rabies vaccination is mandatory for every cat entering an ABC programme, the FVRCP vaccine is to be considered, and the right ear is notched during the surgery.
  7. Discharge. A private clinic sends the cat home the same day; The Feline Foundation keeps it four days in a post-operative ward, Blue Cross Society Pune seven days, and the AWBI guideline requires at least four days and release only once the sutures have healed.

The blood test is where a pet cat's bill parts from a stray's: The Feline Foundation charges Rs 750 on admission and makes it mandatory for pet cats; Vetic recommends a pre-anaesthetic check for every cat and puts tests, pain medicines and follow-ups at Rs 1,000 to Rs 2,000 on top; the AWBI asks for the same tests "when possible";. Rs 750 divided by 84.38 and by 74 is 8.89 and 10.14 dollars, a rupee-native price.

Stitches decide the second week: a spay's come out after seven to ten days and a castration has none, Cats Protection puts healing at around 10 days, and the AWBI releases a community cat only once "the sutures have completely healed and no signs of infection or complications are present";. Whatever the ward, cats "must not be housed with or come in contact in any way with dogs" and recover "in a place where they do not suffer from unnecessary stress by the sounds or smells of dogs";.

Recovery and aftercare in a flat and in Indian heat: the e-collar, the litter and when to call the vet

Recovery from cat neutering takes about a day for the cat to look normal and about ten days for the wound to heal, and in an Indian flat it means one closed room away from other animals, an e-collar, paper in the litter tray and a fan rather than a balcony Cats Protection, Neutering your cat.

The first 24 hours

A cat is drowsy the first evening and normal by the next day in most cases, which is when keeping it quiet gets hard; reduce what it can do for as long as the veterinary team advises. Same-day clinics keep the cat in its carrier or a small room the first evening to watch it and to prevent "complications and risk of death from exposure to outdoor temperature extremes", offer small amounts of food and water later that evening, and expect appetite back within 48 hours.

Heat is the Indian variable. The AWBI keeps a recovering cat in a "clean, dry, and warm environment" because an anaesthetised animal loses heat, and it orders checks every two hours on journeys over two hours for "signs of distress, overheating, or other health concerns", water on journeys over four hours and a carrier covered with breathable cloth. In a humid Mumbai flat in May or a dry Delhi one that means a covered carrier home, never a two-wheeler footboard in afternoon sun, and one room with a fan, no direct sun, the balcony shut and water within reach; the wet-bulb figures that make a closed room dangerous are on the heat safety guide.

The e-collar and the incision

The sources disagree on how long the collar stays on. Cats Protection says to keep on "any buster collar or other wound protection your vet provides";; PetMD's veterinarian puts the cone at five to seven days after a simple neuter and 10 to 14 days after an abdominal incision; the Spay Neuter Network says "at all times for 14 days";. The incision reconciles them: a scrotal castration with no stitches is the five-to-seven-day case and a spay is the 10-to-14-day case, so the surgeon's instruction for the wound they made governs. Keep it dry, no bathing for 10 to 14 days, and check it twice a day; a little blood at first and some redness are expected.

Which litter after surgery

Paper replaces litter, and the day count is disputed: SNAP in Texas advises shredded newspaper or paper pellets for 10 to 14 days after a male cat's neuter "to prevent dust particles from irritating the incisions", the Spay Neuter Network says the same without a count, and PetMD says torn newspaper for 24 hours because litter sticks to the incision. Newspaper costs nothing in India and the risk is clay or sand dust in an open scrotal wound, so use paper for at least the first day and for the full course if the clinic that made the incision says so; a cat in an NGO ward has the question answered for it.

When to call the vet

The signs that need a call rather than a wait are listed below.

The one thing not to get wrong in a multi-cat flat

A neutered male can still impregnate an entire female for up to one month after surgery, and a female spayed while in heat can still mate with a tom, which can lead to infection or inflammation at the surgery site though not to pregnancy. Keep a newly neutered tom away from any unspayed queen for four weeks, and a newly spayed queen away from entire toms for the 10 to 14 days her incision takes to heal.

Cat neutering cost in India, from the pages we opened

Cat neutering in India costs Rs 1,000 to Rs 2,500 at the NGO wards whose pages print a fee, Rs 4,000 for a male and Rs 5,000 for a female on a Delhi clinic's own rate card, and Rs 5,000 to Rs 20,000 at private clinics by a Bengaluru newspaper's and a Delhi chain's accounts, every figure read on the publishing page on 18 September 2026 The Feline Foundation The Vet Connect, New Delhi Vetic Editorial, How Much is Cat….

Cat sterilisation fees and cost figures by city, each from the page that publishes it, read 18 September 2026 The Feline Foundation
CityRouteMaleFemaleWhat the page says is includedDate on the page
MumbaiThe Feline Foundation, stray cat, or pet cat with ear notchRs 1,500Rs 2,500Surgery, post-operative ward, deworming, anti-rabies vaccine; Andheri West TNR zone free, subject to slotsForm live 18 September 2026
MumbaiThe Feline Foundation, pet cat without ear notchRs 3,000Rs 5,000Surgery only; blood test Rs 750 on admission, mandatory for pet catsForm live 18 September 2026
MumbaiIDA India, HDFC Cat ABC WardAbout Rs 1,600 per catAbout Rs 1,600 per catStated as the NGO's basic cost of sterilising a cat, not as a listed feeUndated page
BengaluruCUPA Maitri centre, JayanagarRs 1,500Rs 1,500"All of this" against a private clinic's Rs 5,000 to Rs 10,000: surgery, vaccination, antibiotics; CUPA's own page prints no feeDeccan Herald, 2 January 2024
BengaluruPrivate clinic, per the same reportRs 5,000 to Rs 10,000Rs 5,000 to Rs 10,000Excludes post-operative care, antibiotics and medicines2 January 2024
DelhiThe Vet Connect, basic pricingRs 4,000Rs 5,000Anaesthesia, the procedure and disposables; medicines and post-operative items billed separatelyUndated clinic page
Delhi and KolkataNGOs, per Vetic's blogRs 4,000Rs 5,000 (Kolkata Rs 4,000 to Rs 6,000)Not stated; no NGO named12 March 2026
MetrosSmaller private clinics, per VeticRs 6,000 to Rs 13,000Rs 6,000 to Rs 13,000Not itemised; add Rs 1,000 for dressings and tonics, Rs 1,000 to Rs 2,000 for tests and follow-up12 March 2026
Delhi NCR, Mumbai and othersVetic's own packagesRs 15,000 to Rs 20,000Rs 15,000 to Rs 20,000Gas anaesthesia, vitals and blood-pressure monitoring, ventilator back-up, tests, follow-up12 March 2026
PuneBlue Cross Society of Pune, stray catsRs 1,000Rs 1,000Surgery, free anti-rabies and Tricat vaccination, seven-day post-operative stay with wet foodPage live 18 September 2026
ChandigarhGovernment veterinary institutions, published fee listCastration fee Rs 20; major operation Rs 100Major operation Rs 100Plus a Rs 30 outdoor ticket for pet animals; the list names no species and does not say cat spays are donePage live 18 September 2026

Every figure was divided by 84.38 and by 74 before it went in, and none lands on a round dollar number: Rs 4,000 is 47.40 or 54.05 dollars, Rs 1,500 is 17.78 or 20.27, Rs 15,000 is 177.77 or 202.70; these are rupee-native prices, not a converted list.

One pair appears on three pages and counts once. The Vet Connect prints Rs 4,000 for a neuter and Rs 5,000 for a spay as its own basic price; Vetic gives the identical pair for unnamed "NGOs" in Delhi; a Wiggles retailer post from June 2022 gives Rs 4,000 for a male and Rs 5,000 to Rs 6,000 for a female nationally. Two sources that agree to the rupee are one source, and only The Vet Connect is a clinic's rate card, so it is the Delhi figure here, undated.

Vetic's blog, the most-read Indian result at 19,500 views from a chain with clinics in Delhi, Gurgaon, Mumbai, Chennai, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Hyderabad and Pune, contradicts itself: Rs 2,000 to Rs 5,000 at government hospitals or NGOs, Rs 6,000 to Rs 13,000 at smaller clinics and Rs 15,000 to Rs 20,000 for its own packages, then "Rs 500 in subsidies to Rs 8,000 in private clinics" and "aim for Rs 14,000 to Rs 17,000" two sentences apart. Its one line that survives the arithmetic is "Always ask for a full quote."

The government route is priced for livestock. Chandigarh's fee list for its veterinary institutions has a castration fee of Rs 20, a minor operation at Rs 50, a major operation at Rs 100 and a Rs 30 outdoor ticket for pet animals; it names no species and does not say a cat spay is done there. Wiggles' claim of Rs 1,600 to Rs 3,000 at government veterinary hospitals names none. The municipal side, where the local authority pays, is on the dog sterilisation guide.

What the fee buys differs more than the fee. The Feline Foundation's Rs 1,500 or Rs 2,500 includes four days in a ward, pain medicine, antibiotics, the rabies vaccine and deworming; Blue Cross Society Pune's Rs 1,000 includes rabies, Tricat and seven days; The Vet Connect's price excludes every consumable after the operation; the Bengaluru private range excludes post-operative care, antibiotics and medicines. Compare the all-in number, and for a same-day discharge add the e-collar, the pain course and the recheck to whatever the counter quotes.

Low-cost and NGO routes by city: Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Pune and Chennai, as each page states them

The low-cost, affordable routes for cat sterilisation in India are NGO wards in Mumbai (The Feline Foundation and IDA India), Bengaluru (CUPA's Maitri centre), Delhi (Friendicoes) and Pune (Blue Cross Society of Pune), each booked in advance and each described below only as far as its own page describes it CUPA (Compassion Unlimited Plus Action) Friendicoes SECA Blue Cross Society of Pune.

NGO cat sterilisation routes, what each organisation's own page states, read 18 September 2026 CUPA (Compassion Unlimited Plus Action)
CityOrganisationFee statedIncludedHow to bookScale stated
Mumbai, Navi MumbaiThe Feline Foundation, Andheri WestRs 1,500 male, Rs 2,500 female (stray, or pet with ear notch); Rs 3,000 and Rs 5,000 pet without notch; free in Andheri West TNR zones subject to slotsSurgery, four-day post-operative ward, pain medicine, antibiotics, rabies vaccine, dewormingOnline form; call within a week; bring the cat the day before400 cats a month; no Persian or non-Indie breeds
MumbaiIn Defense of Animals India, HDFC Cat ABC Ward (since 2016)Not listed; basic cost stated as about Rs 1,600 per catNot itemised; OPD for street animals at a nominal cost, 11 am to 2 pmNot stated on the page1,200 cats a year, about 100 a month
BengaluruCUPA, Maitri Spay and Neuter Centre for Community Cats, JayanagarNot on CUPA's page; Rs 1,500 all-in quoted to Deccan Herald, 2 January 2024Sterilisation with anti-rabies vaccination; post-operative recovery by caregivers and volunteersWhatsApp-only appointments, in advance1,427 cats in 2024-25; over 7,000 since 2018 as of September 2025; open Friday and Saturday
DelhiFriendicoes SECANot stated for catsNot stated; programme run with local volunteers since 2019Not stated on the pageOver 3,000 cat surgeries by early 2022, about 9,000 by mid-2023
PuneBlue Cross Society of PuneRs 1,000 per cat, male or femaleSurgery, free anti-rabies and Tricat vaccination, seven-day post-operative stay with wet foodEmail with name, number and the cats' details; no walk-ins; Monday to Friday 10 am to 6 pmSlots delayed by limited cat cages
ChennaiBlue Cross of IndiaNot readNot readNot readSite returned a hosting suspension notice on 18 September 2026

Mumbai

The Feline Foundation sterilises 400 cats a month, keeps every cat for its post-operative care, vaccinates every cat against rabies, takes stray and pet cats from Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and nearby, does Andheri West trap-neuter-return cats free when slots exist, and does not operate on Persian or non-Indie breeds The Feline Foundation. IDA India's HDFC Cat ABC Ward, set up in 2016, does 1,200 cats a year, and its "approximately Rs 1,600" is the charity's cost per cat rather than a listed fee.

Bengaluru

CUPA's Maitri centre in Jayanagar, Bengaluru, Karnataka, which Deccan Herald called one of India's first centres dedicated to community cats, operates every Friday and Saturday, books only on WhatsApp, includes anti-rabies vaccination, and prints counts (1,427 cats in 2024-25, over 7,000 since 2018) but no fee. The fee exists in one place: at the opening on 28 December 2023, CUPA's head of projects told Deccan Herald that a private clinic charges Rs 5,000 to Rs 10,000 excluding post-operative care and medicines and "we provide all of this for Rs 1,500";. That is a January 2024 figure; ask what it is today.

Delhi

Friendicoes started a volunteer-run stray cat programme in 2019, passed 3,000 surgeries by early 2022 and was "touching 9,000" by mid-2023, and its page states neither a fee nor a booking route for cats. People For Animals' Sanjay Gandhi Animal Care Centre lists "ABC for Dogs" and no cat programme; the private rate card is The Vet Connect's Rs 4,000 neuter and Rs 5,000 spay.

Pune and Chennai

Maharashtra has the two wards that print an all-in fee: The Feline Foundation in Mumbai and Blue Cross Society of Pune, which sterilises stray cats of either sex for Rs 1,000 with free anti-rabies and Tricat vaccination and seven days in a ward, booked by email only, Monday to Friday, with slots delayed by limited cages. Blue Cross of India's website returned a "Service Temporarily Suspended" hosting notice on 18 September 2026 and 404s on its programme pages, so nothing from it is quoted; the Chennai pet licence guide lists the corporation's pet clinics, and this page opened no Chennai page that prices a cat spay.

The ear notch is the trade a pet owner can make: The Feline Foundation charges Rs 2,500 and Rs 1,500 with it and Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 without, and the AWBI requires it on every ABC cat "irrespective of gender", cut from the tip of the right ear. It is permanent and cosmetic, and for an indoor pet cat it buys a subsidised surgery and a four-day ward.

Community cats and the law: what the ABC Rules 2023 say about cats, quoted

The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 mention cats in exactly one rule, Rule 19, which allows a recognised animal welfare organisation to sterilise domestic or feral cats on the State Board's advice, at the local authority's expense, and away from dogs.

Rule 19, on page 31 of the gazette notification G.S.R. 193(E) of 10 March 2023, reads in full: "Sterilisation and Immunisation of Domestic or Feral cats: Upon the advice of State Board, the Sterilisation of cats may be conducted by a recognised Animal Welfare Organisation with training and expertise in spay or neuter of cats, in a manner provided in the Guidelines for Cat Sterilisation and Immunisation, published by the Board. (1) The infrastructure and reimbursement of expenses for a Cat Birth Control program shall be provided by the local authority. (2) While cat sterilisation programs can be conducted in the Animal Birth Control Center provided for dogs, the cats must not be housed with or come in contact in any way with dogs. (3) The post-operative care of cats must be done in a place where they do not suffer from unnecessary stress by the sounds or smells of dogs.";

Everything else in the 41 pages is written for dogs, which settles the compulsory question. Rule 7 classifies "Pet animals: dogs owned and kept indoor by individuals" and street or community dogs; Rule 8(1) makes "the owner of the animal" responsible for a pet animal's deworming, immunisation and sterilisation; Rule 8(2) makes the local authority responsible for street animals. Because the pet-animal class is dogs, the owner's duty in Rule 8(1) is a dog duty, and no rule compels a pet cat's owner to sterilise it. The definition of community animals, "any animal born in a Community for which no ownership has been claimed", does take in cats, which is what lets Rule 19 and the feeding duties in Rule 20 reach them. The dog side is on the dog sterilisation guide and the stray dogs guide.

The guidelines Rule 19 promises now exist: the AWBI's revised ABC module, released with a ministerial message dated 27 February 2025, carries "Guidelines for Birth Control and Immunisation of Stray Cats" on document pages 124 to 139. What it requires of a cat programme is listed below.

  • An animal welfare organisation registered with the AWBI, holding a valid Project Recognition Certificate, with at least one year's experience of birth control programmes and veterinarians trained in cat sterilisation at an AWBI-recognised training centre.
  • Humane capture with box traps, drop traps or kitten traps, transport in covered, ventilated carriers separate from other species, checks every two hours on journeys over two hours and water on journeys over four.
  • A collar with an identification number and capture location on arrival, an examination in the carrier, quarantine for any cat with signs of contagious disease, and 12 hours of observation before surgery under CCTV.
  • Individual cages at least 2 feet wide, 3 feet deep and 2 feet high, never stacked, cleaned with cat-safe chemicals between patients.
  • Mandatory rabies vaccination, the FVRCP vaccine to be considered, a V notch on the right ear, at least four days of post-operative care, and release at the exact spot of capture with the date, time and place recorded.
  • Individual medical records kept for at least ten years, monthly reports to the local monitoring committee and annual reports to the Board by 31 May.

In practice the local authorities have not built this and the NGOs have: Rule 19 says a programme "may" be conducted, on the State Board's advice, with the money on the local authority, while the wards that run are CUPA's, funded by the Murty Trust and public donations, Friendicoes' volunteers, The Feline Foundation's fees and Blue Cross Society Pune's Rs 1,000 package. A resident with a colony books with one of them; a resident whose society objects can point to Rule 20, which makes the resident welfare association responsible for arranging the feeding of community animals in its premises, and to the community feeding guide Ministry of Fisheries.

The two sentences that settle most society arguments

Rule 19(2) and 19(3) of the ABC Rules 2023 require that cats in any birth control programme are not housed with dogs and recover away from the sounds and smells of dogs, and the AWBI's 2025 guideline requires release "back to the exact location from which they were captured";. A society that wants sterilised cats removed rather than returned is asking for something the programme's own rules do not allow.

Persian, Siamese, Bengal and British Shorthair: does breed change the plan?

Breed changes where you can get a cat neutered and what to watch afterwards, not whether: The Feline Foundation will not operate on a Persian or any non-Indie breed, a Siamese's shaved patch grows back darker for a while, and Bengal and British Shorthair owners have a documented weight problem to manage after surgery International Cat Care, Neutering your cat Quimby J, Gowland S, Carney HC, DePorter T.

A Persian cat is the breed the low-cost wards exclude by name: The Feline Foundation's form states "we do not operate on Persian/Non-Indie breeds", and Vetic does not recommend crowded NGO environments for housecats or Persians Vetic Editorial, How Much is Cat…. A Persian is a private-clinic case, and the Persian page's care calendar puts the neutering conversation with the vet at six to nine months.

A Siamese cat comes home two-toned for a while: where skin temperature sets hair colour, the fur regrowing over a shaved spay patch can come in darker and is replaced by lighter hair as growth continues. It needs no treatment.

A Bengal or a British Shorthair is a feeding job from the day of surgery, because the 2021 AAHA/AAFP guideline names neutering as a risk factor for obesity, especially in males, and says the kitten stage is the time to plan calorie control; weigh the cat monthly and cut the ration when the number climbs.

An Indian domestic cat, the "Indie" of the NGO forms, is the animal every ward on this page is built for, and its choice is between an NGO's all-in package with an ear notch and a private clinic's same-day discharge. For any breed, International Cat Care's one caveat stands: a very large breed such as a Maine Coon is a timing question for the vet, and it is the vet who examines the cat, not this page, who sets the date.

Common questions about cat neutering and sterilisation in India

Is it good to neuter a cat?

Yes, neutering a cat is good for it on the evidence: cats spayed before six months had a 91 percent lower mammary carcinoma risk in a 308-case study, entire cats had 4.29 times the odds of dying before age three in a 7,936-death life table, and early-neutered males had fewer abscesses and less spraying across 1,660 cats.

Do male cats change after neutering?

Yes, male cats change in measured ways after neutering and keep their rank and personality. Across 1,660 cats, early-neutered males showed less urine spraying, fewer abscesses, less aggression toward veterinarians and more hiding; in a 17-cat colony, spraying almost disappeared, aggression fell, the cats were less active and the dominance hierarchy did not change.

What is the correct age to neuter a male cat?

The correct age to neuter a male cat is by five months, the 2016 Veterinary Task Force on Feline Sterilization position endorsed by the AVMA, AAHA and the AAFP, and International Cat Care says around four months. The old worry about a narrow urethra is answered: urethral diameters are the same in cats castrated at seven weeks, at seven months, or left intact.

Is it painful for cats after neutering?

Yes, it is painful for cats after neutering unless treated, which is why the WSAVA protocol calls for preventive, multimodal analgesia and says analgesics may be required for up to three days after surgery, especially after a spay. Owners can see the pain as less activity and play, more sleeping and a changed walk for up to three days.

How much does it cost to sterilize a cat in India?

Sterilising a cat in India costs Rs 1,000 per cat at Blue Cross Society Pune, Rs 1,500 for a male and Rs 2,500 for a female at The Feline Foundation in Mumbai with a four-day ward, Rs 4,000 and Rs 5,000 at The Vet Connect in Delhi, and Rs 5,000 to Rs 20,000 at private clinics by Bengaluru and Delhi accounts, all read on 18 September 2026.

How much does it cost to sterilise a cat?

The British pages that rank for this question print no price; Cats Protection tells readers to ask their vet. In India the published fees run from Rs 1,000 at a Pune NGO ward and Rs 1,500 to Rs 2,500 at a Mumbai one, through Rs 4,000 to Rs 5,000 on a Delhi clinic's rate card, to Rs 15,000 to Rs 20,000 for a Delhi chain's monitored package.

Is sterilization painful for cats?

Sterilisation is done under general anaesthesia, so the cat feels nothing during the operation, and it is painful afterwards unless treated. The AWBI's own cat guideline requires pre-emptive analgesia, names meloxicam at 0.2 mg/kg before surgery, and allows opioids or meloxicam at 0.1 mg/kg for up to three days after it at an Indian ABC centre.

How much does it cost to sterilize a male cat?

Sterilising a male cat costs Rs 1,000 at Blue Cross Society Pune, Rs 1,500 at The Feline Foundation in Mumbai for a stray or an ear-notched pet cat and Rs 3,000 without the notch, about Rs 1,500 at CUPA's Bengaluru centre by its January 2024 quote, and Rs 4,000 at The Vet Connect in Delhi, with post-operative medicines billed separately there.

Is it compulsory to neuter a cat?

No, it is not compulsory to neuter a pet cat in India. The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 define pet animals as dogs (Rule 7) and place the owner's sterilisation duty on them (Rule 8(1)); cats appear only in Rule 19, which lets a recognised animal welfare organisation sterilise domestic or feral cats at the local authority's expense.

Is spaying painful for cats?

Yes, spaying is painful for cats after the anaesthetic wears off, and the WSAVA protocol singles it out: postoperative analgesics may be required for up to three days "especially after ovariohysterectomy", with an incisional and intraperitoneal local block during surgery and the same NSAID before and after. Ask the clinic which drug goes home and for how many days.

What age is best to neuter a cat?

The best age to neuter a cat is around four months, before sexual maturity, in International Cat Care's words, and by five months in the Veterinary Task Force position. A 1,660-cat cohort found gonadectomy before 5.5 months was not associated with more deaths, relinquishment or serious conditions; the AWBI's Indian cat guideline sets no minimum age.

Is it worth neutering a male cat?

Yes, neutering a male cat is worth it: early-neutered males in a 1,660-cat cohort had fewer abscesses, less urine spraying and less aggression toward veterinarians, entire cats had 4.29 times the odds of dying before age three in a 7,936-death life table, and the surgery costs Rs 1,000 to Rs 4,000 on the Indian NGO and clinic pages this page opened.

Is neutering painful for cats?

Yes, neutering is painful for cats, and the 2022 ISFM consensus reports that owners can identify behavioural changes, less activity and play, more sleep and a changed walk, for up to three days after castration or spay; it also validates the Feline Grimace Scale for owners to use at home. Never give paracetamol or aspirin; ask the surgeon for the dispensed course and a written dose.

Bonbeno is an independent pet reference for India. We do not sell pet food, products or animals. Organic rankings are earned on verified data and paid placement is always labelled.